Stevenage: 2002-3 Season Details

A 5-1 win at Woking sounds like bliss to a Stevenage Borough supporter. Not, however, so much when it turns out to be the club’s last league victory for three months in 2002-3. Injuries didn’t help Wayne Turner‘s cause, but the run of form that saw Boro’ hit rock bottom on Boxing Day was always going to make it hard for Turner to stay in charge.

Out he went and in came Graham Westley, with Boro’ needing points fast. Under Westley’s leadership, Boro’ did pull themselves clear during the second half of the campaign – but it needed a run of six straight wins in March and April to make sure.

Other highlights from the 2002-3 season include an entertaining 4-3 defeat to Luton Town in the LDV Trophy before Turner’s departure, a fixture that had been earned thanks to a 2-1 win over Division Three Swansea.

Full 2002-3 Details:

Most Appearances: Simon Travis - 47
Top Goalscorer: Kirk Jackson – 8

Saturday 17 August 2002

Tuesday 20 August 2002

Saturday 24 August 2002

Monday 26 August 2002

Saturday 31 August 2002

Monday 02 September 2002

Saturday 07 September 2002

Saturday 14 September 2002

Tuesday 17 September 2002

Saturday 21 September 2002

Monday 23 September 2002

Saturday 28 September 2002

Saturday 05 October 2002

Tuesday 08 October 2002

Saturday 12 October 2002

Saturday 19 October 2002

Tuesday 22 October 2002

Saturday 26 October 2002

Saturday 02 November 2002

Saturday 09 November 2002

Tuesday 12 November 2002

Saturday 16 November 2002

Saturday 23 November 2002

Saturday 30 November 2002

Saturday 07 December 2002

Saturday 14 December 2002

Saturday 21 December 2002

Thursday 26 December 2002

Saturday 28 December 2002

Saturday 04 January 2003

Tuesday 14 January 2003

Saturday 18 January 2003

Saturday 25 January 2003

Saturday 01 February 2003

Saturday 08 February 2003

Saturday 22 February 2003

Saturday 01 March 2003

Tuesday 04 March 2003

Saturday 08 March 2003

Saturday 15 March 2003

Saturday 22 March 2003

Tuesday 25 March 2003

Saturday 29 March 2003

Saturday 05 April 2003

Monday 07 April 2003

Saturday 12 April 2003

Saturday 19 April 2003

Monday 21 April 2003

Saturday 26 April 2003

2002-3 Boro' Rollcall

Sort Players By:

 

PldGlsYCRCUS
Tony Battersby4 (2)3000
Leon Bell2 (2)0100
Graham Benstead0 (0)0001
Michael Blackwood22 (2)1200
George Boyd1 (0)0004
Nathan Bunce11 (0)1102
Jamie Campbell27 (3)2411
DJ Campbell0 (2)0000
Danny Carroll15 (0)5100
Adrian Clarke3 (1)0002
Jamie Cook7 (6)1100
John Dreyer2 (0)0004
Anthony Elding12 (2)7200
Scott Eustace0 (0)0001
Matt Fisher16 (1)0500
Jo Flack0 (1)0003
Stuart Fraser18 (5)15112
Adam Furness0 (1)0001
Jason Goodliffe33 (3)4700
Phil Gray0 (2)0001
Justin Gregory4 (0)0000
Gary Holloway6 (3)0100
Scott Houghton3 (3)1000
Richard Howell8 (4)2302
Kirk Jackson19 (3)8201
Barry Laker14 (0)1300
Dino Maamria8 (3)5200
Charlie MacDonald14 (6)3103
Gary MacDonald10 (3)0208
Sam McMahon22 (3)2610
Jack Midson2 (7)1003
Neil Mustoe0 (2)0000
Lloyd Opara0 (2)0002
Richard Pacquette9 (1)4120
Lionel Perez4 (1)01010
Justin Richards14 (7)6403
Louis Riddle10 (2)0211
Richard Scott7 (1)1100
Jean-Michel Sigere8 (10)3206
Neil Smith4 (4)0204
Jude Stirling12 (3)0001
Graeme Tomlinson2 (8)0003
Simon Travis44 (3)0000
Robin Trott25 (0)2003
Michael Warner10 (1)0301
Steve Watson15 (0)0600
Mark Westhead42 (0)0004
Martin Williams17 (0)2201
Roger Willis1 (0)0001
Phil Wilson3 (3)00029
Simon Wormull29 (8)4203

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

2002-3 Nationwide Conference Table

PlWDLFAGDPts
Yeovil Town
2Morecambe422391086424478
Doncaster Rovers
4Chester City422112959312875
5Dagenham & Redbridge422191271591272
6Hereford United422191264511364
7Scarborough421810146354964
8Halifax Town421810145051-164
9Forest Green Rovers42178176162-159
10Margate421511166066-656
11Barnet421314156568-353
12Stevenage Borough421410186155652
13Farnborough421312175756151
14Northwich Victoria421312176672-651
15Telford United42147215469-1349
16Burton Albion421310195277-2549
17Ebbsfleet United421212186273-1148
18Leigh RMI42146224471-2748
19Woking421114175281-2947
20Nuneaton Borough42137225178-2746
21Southport421112195469-1545
22Kettering Town4287273773-3631