Charlie MacDonald Player Profile

Debut: Yeovil Town (H, 2-2), 14/09/2002

Charlie MacDonald signed for the Boro’ at the same time as left winger, Michael Blackwood. Former manager Wayne Turner bought Charlie to the club, where he was said to be a promising young talent. Charlie made a quick impact in the 5-1 away win at rivals Woking.

He scored twice in that game, but failed to impress the Boro’ faithful in the following months, scoring just one other goal in his time at the club, and although Charlie made an immediate impact, he wasn’t the striker that Stevenage was looking for, and was released from his contract.

Although not being the tallest person to grace the turf at Broadhall Way, he had a good leap and had good movement when not on the ball, but he lacked that extra yard of pace that is needed at this level, and he also lacked a good eye for goal.

MacDonald also didn’t look confident with the ball at his feet, so Charlie found times difficult at Boro’ and him not being able to find the back of the net on a regular basis surely didn’t help his cause for a place in the side.

We all know that Charlie has the talent to do the business at this level, however, he wasn’t suited to the Boro’ squad in which Wayne Turner managed, and wasn’t considered when Graham Westley took over as manager of the club.

MacDonald’s stats reflect the way that Boro’ were playing at the time when Wayne Turner was in charge, but I feel Charlie could make an impact in the feeder leagues before returning to the Conference.

Author: Scott ‘Sooty’ Taylor

Saturday 14 September 2002

Tuesday 17 September 2002

Saturday 21 September 2002

Saturday 28 September 2002

Saturday 05 October 2002

Tuesday 08 October 2002

Saturday 12 October 2002

Saturday 19 October 2002

Saturday 16 November 2002

Saturday 23 November 2002

Saturday 30 November 2002

Saturday 07 December 2002

Saturday 14 December 2002

Thursday 26 December 2002

Saturday 04 January 2003

Saturday 25 January 2003

Saturday 01 February 2003

Saturday 08 February 2003

Saturday 22 February 2003

Saturday 15 March 2003