DJ Campbell Player Profile

Debut: Hayes (A, 2-0), 21/08/2001    

One week into the 2001-2 season, it was in the minds of most fans that DJ Campbell was the goalscorer that we’d been lacking since Carl Alford. Not just since then either, but also between Alford and Barry Hayles. After making himself known during that summer’s run of friendlies, he scored twice on debut at Hayes. But injury meant that he’d only feature in six matches before November and 21 for the season overall.

For many, the 2002-3 campaign was make-or-break for Campbell. And sadly, it turned out to be the latter. A public spat with boss Wayne Turner saw him go out on loan to a number of sides, before Yeading came in for him on a permanent basis. Not that his impact with us would be forgotten, however. The nippy, but lightweight striker scored the crucial winner in our 2001-2 FA Trophy quarter final at home to Stalybridge.

And in the semi-final against Morecambe too.

 

DJ Campbell: After Boro’

Campbell may not have been one earmarked for greater things a few years back. But any critics have been more than proved wrong. After his initial descent to lower league teams after leaving us, the striker’s career curve – and stock – rose exponentially. He eventually found his way to Blackpool under Ian Holloway; a move taking him to the Premier League.

Saturday 17 August 2002

Saturday 21 December 2002

 

Tuesday 21 August 2001

Saturday 25 August 2001

Monday 03 September 2001

Saturday 08 September 2001

Monday 10 September 2001

Saturday 22 September 2001

Saturday 27 October 2001

Tuesday 30 October 2001

Saturday 03 November 2001

Saturday 10 November 2001

Saturday 17 November 2001

Saturday 24 November 2001

Wednesday 26 December 2001

Saturday 05 January 2002

Saturday 12 January 2002

Saturday 02 February 2002

Saturday 16 March 2002

Saturday 23 March 2002

Saturday 30 March 2002

Monday 01 April 2002

Saturday 06 April 2002

Tuesday 09 April 2002

Saturday 13 April 2002

Monday 15 April 2002

Thursday 18 April 2002

Saturday 20 April 2002

Monday 22 April 2002

Saturday 27 April 2002