Stevenage: 1988-9 Season Details

Boro’ boss Brian Williams was looking to revive our fortunes going into the 1988-9 season; the club having suffered its first-ever relegation. It wasn’t Williams’ fault that we didn’t keep hold of our Division One status; the manager arriving too late during the previous season to halt the slide back to Division Two North.

Our promotion bid was a decent one and we made a decent fist of trying to return straight away. Harlow Town and Thurrock, however, were the teams to go up as Boro’ came up short by five points.

In the FA Cup, our run came to an unusual and awkward end. Boro’ were chucked out of the competition after starting Brian Aldridge in goal. Not many people can claim to have enjoyed a winning debut, only for the admin to get in the way. You see, Aldridge was not actually eligible to play.

That little faux pas with the paperwork was to Burnham’s gain. Tilbury, meanwhile, put us out of the FA Vase, while Dover Athletic ousted us from the Knights Floodlit League.

Full 1988-9 Details:

Most Appearances: Graham Cox - 51
Top Goalscorer: Martin Gittings – 24

Saturday 13 August 1988

Saturday 20 August 1988

Monday 22 August 1988

Saturday 27 August 1988

Tuesday 30 August 1988

Saturday 03 September 1988

Monday 05 September 1988

Saturday 10 September 1988

Saturday 17 September 1988

Tuesday 20 September 1988

Saturday 24 September 1988

Tuesday 27 September 1988

Saturday 01 October 1988

Saturday 08 October 1988

Tuesday 11 October 1988

Saturday 15 October 1988

Wednesday 19 October 1988

Saturday 22 October 1988

Saturday 29 October 1988

Tuesday 01 November 1988

Saturday 05 November 1988

Monday 07 November 1988

Saturday 12 November 1988

Monday 14 November 1988

Wednesday 23 November 1988

Saturday 26 November 1988

Saturday 03 December 1988

Monday 05 December 1988

Saturday 10 December 1988

Saturday 17 December 1988

Monday 19 December 1988

Tuesday 27 December 1988

Saturday 31 December 1988

Monday 02 January 1989

Saturday 07 January 1989

Monday 09 January 1989

Saturday 14 January 1989

Tuesday 17 January 1989

Saturday 21 January 1989

Saturday 28 January 1989

Monday 30 January 1989

Saturday 04 February 1989

Saturday 11 February 1989

Saturday 18 February 1989

Saturday 25 February 1989

Saturday 04 March 1989

Saturday 11 March 1989

Saturday 18 March 1989

Tuesday 21 March 1989

Saturday 25 March 1989

Saturday 01 April 1989

Saturday 08 April 1989

Saturday 15 April 1989

Saturday 22 April 1989

Saturday 29 April 1989

Saturday 06 May 1989

1988-9 Boro' Rollcall

Sort Players By:

 

Pld Gls YC RC US
Ian Adcroft16 (1)4 000
Brian Aldridge3 (0)0 000
Keith Allinson1 (0)0 000
Gary Bambrick41 (0)1 003
Noel Blackwell8 (0)0 000
Lee Bozier6 (0)0 000
Nigel Cardines18 (5)0 001
Colin Cardines1 (1)0 000
Peter Churchill2 (1)1 000
Lee Clarke1 (0)0 000
Graham Cox51 (0)15 000
Paul Cumberbatch13 (4)2 001
Shaun Debnam0 (1)0 000
Phil Dunn5 (0)0 000
Richard Fisher0 (0)0 001
Joe Gibbs2 (2)0 002
Martin Gittings35 (3)24 000
Alan Gittings1 (1)0 000
Paul Grant24 (0)4 001
Chris Hayes17 (0)0 000
Dave Hudgell9 (5)4 000
Alan Iddenden30 (3)1 001
Lee Jacobs0 (1)0 001
Mark Klimek15 (0)0 000
Ronnie Lear0 (3)0 001
Steve Mahoney5 (2)3 001
Gary Marshall10 (0)0 000
Shaun Marshall0 (3)0 008
Colin McGill0 (0)0 001
Trevor Metcalfe5 (3)1 000
Brendan O'Neill2 (0)0 000
Paul Palma8 (1)2 000
Trevor Parker0 (0)0 002
Matt Pettipher13 (3)0 003
Robin Pyke3 (0)0 003
Gary Redmond21 (1)0 000
Gary Roberts11 (0)5 000
Dave Smith30 (5)4 000
Mark Taverner28 (9)5 000
Steve Taverner41 (2)4 000
John Templeton33 (3)3 004
Mark Timpson42 (2)16 000
Denny Tyler17 (0)0 004
David Watkins9 (0)0 000
Martin Westley8 (0)0 000
Gary Williams20 (0)8 000
Brian Wright8 (0)1 000

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1988-9 Vauxhall Opel League Division Two North Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
Harlow Town
Thurrock
3Tring Town4222101065442176
4Stevenage Borough422013984552973
5Heybridge Swifts422191264432172
6Billericay Town4219111265521368
7Clapton421811136556965
8Barton Rovers421811135850865
9Aveley421810145452264
10Hertford Town4216131362491359 *
11Ware42178176065-559
12Hemel Hempstead Town421610165558-358
13Witham Town42167196967255
14Vauxhall Motors (Luton)42159185357-454
15Berkhamsted Town421410185770-1352
16Hornchurch421116155961-249
17Tilbury421310195360-749
18Royston Town42127234672-2643
19Rainham Town42915184962-1342
20Saffron Walden Town42816185472-1840
21Letchworth Garden City42418203471-3730
22Wolverton Town4257304295-5313 ^

* Hertford Town deducted two points
^ Wolverton Town deducted nine points; left Division Two North in 1989