Stevenage: 1989-90 Season Details

For Brian Williams and his Stevenage Borough side, the 1989-90 campaign came close to being a successful one but ended up falling just short. Boro’ were very much in contention for promotion right up until the last few games; defeats to eventual champions Heybridge Swifts and runners-up Aveley during the final four games saw us finish fourth. That meant another season in Division 2 North.

It was especially galling if you think that only Aveley (three) lost more games than Boro’ (five) across the 1989-90 league campaign.

The season wasn’t a complete loss, however. We do admit this depends on how highly a TSI Cup win ranks in your opinion. Boro’ won the trophy nonetheless; defeating our local neighbours Baldock Town in the final.

So, there were signs that Boro’ were ready to rise again. For Brian Williams, however, it wouldn’t be under his leadership. At the end of the 1989-90 season, Boro’ went for a new gaffer. And it was a decision that had a seismic impact on the future of our club.

Full 1989-90 Details:

Most Appearances: Noel Blackwell - 59
Top Goalscorer: Rob McComb – 23

Saturday 12 August 1989

Saturday 19 August 1989

Tuesday 22 August 1989

Saturday 26 August 1989

Wednesday 30 August 1989

Saturday 02 September 1989

Saturday 09 September 1989

Monday 11 September 1989

Saturday 16 September 1989

Saturday 23 September 1989

Monday 25 September 1989

Tuesday 03 October 1989

Saturday 07 October 1989

Monday 09 October 1989

Saturday 14 October 1989

Monday 16 October 1989

Saturday 21 October 1989

Monday 23 October 1989

Saturday 28 October 1989

Tuesday 31 October 1989

Saturday 04 November 1989

Monday 06 November 1989

Saturday 11 November 1989

Tuesday 14 November 1989

Saturday 18 November 1989

Monday 20 November 1989

Saturday 25 November 1989

Tuesday 28 November 1989

Saturday 02 December 1989

Tuesday 05 December 1989

Thursday 07 December 1989

Saturday 09 December 1989

Saturday 16 December 1989

Monday 18 December 1989

Tuesday 26 December 1989

Saturday 30 December 1989

Saturday 06 January 1990

Saturday 13 January 1990

Monday 15 January 1990

Saturday 20 January 1990

Monday 22 January 1990

Tuesday 30 January 1990

Monday 05 February 1990

Saturday 10 February 1990

Monday 12 February 1990

Saturday 17 February 1990

Saturday 24 February 1990

Monday 26 February 1990

Tuesday 06 March 1990

Saturday 10 March 1990

Tuesday 13 March 1990

Saturday 17 March 1990

Saturday 24 March 1990

Saturday 31 March 1990

Tuesday 03 April 1990

Saturday 07 April 1990

Wednesday 11 April 1990

Saturday 14 April 1990

Tuesday 17 April 1990

Saturday 21 April 1990

Wednesday 25 April 1990

Saturday 28 April 1990

1989-90 Boro' Rollcall

Sort Players By:

 

PldGlsYCRCUS
Gary Bambrick46 (5)1001
Ray Beaumont11 (1)0001
Noel Blackwell59 (0)2100
Lee Bozier49 (0)0000
Mick Brophy1 (0)0002
Nicky Chilvers3 (2)0003
Dave Clover3 (0)0001
Graham Cox51 (1)10100
Mick Every0 (1)1000
Paul Grant10 (0)0001
Warren Gravette5 (2)1000
Dave Greene5 (0)0010
Andy Hudson0 (0)0001
Nicky Ironton3 (0)0000
Mark Klimek11 (0)0000
Warren Lay1 (12)0001
Peter Lindsay32 (3)4001
Shaun Marshall0 (4)0001
Tony Martin54 (0)0000
Richard Mays8 (2)0000
Rob McComb32 (3)23000
Steve Miller20 (3)0003
Richard Nugent9 (0)2000
Robbie O'Keefe39 (1)7001
Kenny Page9 (2)2000
Paul Palma24 (10)4001
Trevor Parker16 (5)1003
Sean Pearson10 (0)6000
Doug Pirie3 (1)0000
Nigel Plummer6 (0)2000
Gary Poole1 (0)0000
Ian Richardson17 (4)4000
Gary Roberts8 (0)1000
Dave Smith16 (5)1005
Herbie Smith0 (1)0000
Mark Smitheringale9 (0)0000
Mark Taverner30 (5)1000
Steve Taverner20 (1)0003
Mark Timpson8 (8)3000
Shaun Wilkinson2 (0)0000
Gary Williams51 (1)22210

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1989-90 Vauxhall Opel League Division Two North Table

PlWDLFAGDPts
Heybridge Swifts
Aveley
3Hertford Town422411792514183
4Stevenage Borough422116570313979
5Barton Rovers422261460451572
6Tilbury422091368541469
7Basildon United42132095044659
8Collier Row421513144345-258
9Royston Town421511166372-956
10Saffron Walden Town421511166073-1356
11Vauxhall Motors (Luton)421413135554155
12Clapton421316135046454 *
13Ware421411175359-653
14Hemel Hempstead Town421215155870-1251
15Billericay Town421311184958-950
16Hornchurch421212184964-1548
17Berkhamsted Town42916174468-2443
18Finchley421110215075-2543
19Tring Town42109234870-2239
20Witham Town42814204456-1238
21Rainham Town42911224875-2738
22Letchworth Garden City42712233068-3833 ^

* Clapton deducted one point
^ Letchworth Garden City left Division Two North in 1990