Stevenage: 2001-2 Season Details

The 2001-2 season saw the curtain fall Paul Fairclough‘s reign as Stevenage Borough gaffer for the second (as things stand) and final time. Apart from an early FA Cup exit at the hands of Kettering Town in October, there hadn’t been a huge amount going wrong; after all, Boro’s first league meeting with Barnet ended in a three-goal win for Boro’ and that counts for a lot.

But not much had been going right, either. Boro’ were bang average and stuck in the mid-table. The journey towards the FA Trophy final had begun in style, but Phil Wallace decided it required a new driver after seeing off Forest Green in the fifth round. Wayne Turner took Boro’ the rest of the way, but the final would end in defeat. It was, in part, because of ex-forward Carl Alford.

Full 2001-2 Details:

Most Appearances: Sam McMahon - 47
Top Goalscorer: Jean-Michel Sigere – 12

Saturday 18 August 2001

Tuesday 21 August 2001

Saturday 25 August 2001

Monday 27 August 2001

Saturday 01 September 2001

Monday 03 September 2001

Saturday 08 September 2001

Monday 10 September 2001

Saturday 15 September 2001

Tuesday 18 September 2001

Saturday 22 September 2001

Saturday 29 September 2001

Tuesday 02 October 2001

Friday 05 October 2001

Monday 08 October 2001

Saturday 13 October 2001

Monday 15 October 2001

Saturday 20 October 2001

Saturday 27 October 2001

Tuesday 30 October 2001

Saturday 03 November 2001

Saturday 10 November 2001

Saturday 17 November 2001

Saturday 24 November 2001

Saturday 01 December 2001

Saturday 15 December 2001

Wednesday 26 December 2001

Saturday 05 January 2002

Saturday 12 January 2002

Saturday 19 January 2002

Friday 25 January 2002

Saturday 02 February 2002

Saturday 09 February 2002

Saturday 16 February 2002

Saturday 23 February 2002

Saturday 02 March 2002

Saturday 09 March 2002

Monday 11 March 2002

Saturday 16 March 2002

Saturday 23 March 2002

Monday 25 March 2002

Saturday 30 March 2002

Monday 01 April 2002

Saturday 06 April 2002

Tuesday 09 April 2002

Saturday 13 April 2002

Monday 15 April 2002

Thursday 18 April 2002

Saturday 20 April 2002

Monday 22 April 2002

Saturday 27 April 2002

Sunday 12 May 2002

2001-2 Boro' Rollcall

Sort Players By:

 

Pld Gls YC RC US
Ben Abbey0 (3)0 000
Paul Armstrong4 (12)1 006
Andy Arnott7 (0)0 100
Mark Bridge0 (0)0 001
DJ Campbell19 (9)5 107
Jamie Campbell8 (3)0 104
Shaun Carey4 (0)0 000
Steve Castle8 (2)0 001
Adrian Clarke33 (5)9 204
Anthony Dean0 (1)0 000
John Dreyer29 (0)0 903
Sean Evers9 (2)0 100
Matt Fisher17 (5)2 503
Lee Fitzpatrick1 (1)0 000
Stuart Fraser8 (0)0 301
Liam George5 (1)0 000
Jason Goodliffe42 (0)3 700
Dean Greygoose23 (0)0 0028
John Hamsher36 (1)4 514
Darran Hay12 (11)6 506
Scott Houghton7 (3)0 201
Richard Howell2 (0)0 000
Neil Illman7 (11)0 004
Kirk Jackson17 (6)10 100
Greg Lincoln1 (0)0 000
Colin Luckett1 (0)0 000
Sam McMahon44 (3)6 811
Jack Midson1 (3)0 001
John Morgan2 (4)0 004
Gary Phillips0 (0)0 001
Louis Riddle7 (0)0 200
Neville Roach0 (0)0 001
Lee Robinson0 (0)0 004
Andre Scarlett0 (1)0 000
Tony Shields2 (1)1 001
Jean-Michel Sigere25 (3)12 110
Dean Smith0 (1)0 100
Leon Smith0 (4)0 008
Sam Sodje20 (4)2 319
Jude Stirling10 (5)1 101
Paul Sturgess27 (1)0 604
Baroan Tagro0 (1)0 000
Chris Tate6 (0)2 100
Robin Trott27 (4)0 109
Steve Walters10 (0)0 211
Alvin Watts2 (0)0 100
Paul Wilkerson29 (0)0 1018
Martin Williams30 (9)3 101
Simon Wormull30 (3)5 200

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

2001-2 Nationwide Conference Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
Boston United
2Dagenham & Redbridge422412670472384
3Yeovil Town4219131066531370
4Doncaster Rovers4218131168462267
5Barnet4219101364481667
6Morecambe421711146367-462
7Farnborough421871766541261
8Margate421416125953658
9Telford United421415136358557
10Nuneaton Borough42169175757057
11Stevenage Borough421510175760-355
12Scarborough421414145563-855 *
13Northwich Victoria42167195770-1355
14Chester City42159185451354
15Southport421314155349453
16Leigh RMI42158195658-253
17Hereford United421410185053-352
18Forest Green Rovers421215155476-2251
19Woking42139205970-1148
20Hayes42135245380-2744
21Stalybridge Celtic421110214069-2943
22Dover Athletic42116254165-2439

* Scarborough deducted one point