Carl Alford Player Profile

Debut: Barrow (A, 1-0), 15/08/1998  

To look at Carl Alford, you would probably be forgiven for thinking that the striker wasn’t really the most agile nor the most nimble of players; plying his trade at the top of the non-league tree with clubs such as Yeovil Town, Stevenage Borough and Rushden & Diamonds.

While you would have been forgiven, you’d have been so wrong that even Jeremy Paxman couldn’t patronise you enough. The bottom line is that Alford was a prolific marksman; up there with some of the best the Conference has perhaps ever seen. An immensely powerful striker with a cute eye for goal, it was no wonder top non-league clubs were after him.

His record at Broadhall Way speaks for itself. With a deadly eye for goal, Alford ranks as one of Boro’s sharpest shooters. With nearly 60 goals in 95 total appearances, it is a return that more than filled a gap left by Barry Hayles. Not even Alford’s goals, however, could return us to the top of the Conference table.

It was a habitual ability to score goals, goals and more goals that came back to haunt Boro’ a couple of seasons after he left. In the FA Trophy, Alford more than helped sink Wayne Turner’s efforts to write himself into our folklore at Villa Park. And he did it with an awkward overhead kick.

In a way, it was quite beautiful in its execution. And yet, as someone sat behind the BoroGuide team that day said in rather ungracious terms, “Alford, you fat f**k”… – it’s funny how football fans can have such short memories and betray the remarkable scoring record he displayed at Boro’.

To see Carl in action in a Boro’ shirt, visit www.carlalford.co.uk

Saturday 15 August 1998

Monday 17 August 1998

Saturday 22 August 1998

Tuesday 25 August 1998

Saturday 29 August 1998

Monday 31 August 1998

Saturday 05 September 1998

Tuesday 08 September 1998

Saturday 12 September 1998

Monday 14 September 1998

Saturday 19 September 1998

Saturday 26 September 1998

Monday 28 September 1998

Saturday 03 October 1998

Saturday 10 October 1998

Sunday 18 October 1998

Saturday 24 October 1998

Wednesday 04 November 1998

Saturday 07 November 1998

Saturday 14 November 1998

Saturday 21 November 1998

Monday 23 November 1998

Saturday 28 November 1998

Saturday 05 December 1998

Saturday 12 December 1998

Saturday 19 December 1998

Saturday 26 December 1998

Monday 28 December 1998

Saturday 09 January 1999

Saturday 16 January 1999

Saturday 23 January 1999

Saturday 30 January 1999

Saturday 06 February 1999

Saturday 13 February 1999

Tuesday 16 February 1999

Saturday 20 February 1999

Tuesday 23 February 1999

Saturday 06 March 1999

Tuesday 09 March 1999

Saturday 13 March 1999

Tuesday 16 March 1999

Friday 26 March 1999

Saturday 03 April 1999

Monday 05 April 1999

Saturday 10 April 1999

Monday 12 April 1999

Saturday 17 April 1999

Monday 19 April 1999

Saturday 24 April 1999

Saturday 01 May 1999

Saturday 14 August 1999

Monday 16 August 1999

Saturday 21 August 1999

Tuesday 24 August 1999

Saturday 28 August 1999

Monday 30 August 1999

Saturday 04 September 1999

Saturday 11 September 1999

Saturday 18 September 1999

Saturday 25 September 1999

Saturday 02 October 1999

Saturday 09 October 1999

Saturday 16 October 1999

Tuesday 19 October 1999

Saturday 23 October 1999

Saturday 30 October 1999

Saturday 06 November 1999

Tuesday 09 November 1999

Sunday 14 November 1999

Saturday 27 November 1999

Monday 29 November 1999

Saturday 04 December 1999

Saturday 11 December 1999

Saturday 18 December 1999

Monday 27 December 1999

Monday 03 January 2000

Saturday 08 January 2000

Saturday 15 January 2000

Saturday 22 January 2000

Saturday 05 February 2000

Wednesday 16 February 2000

Saturday 19 February 2000

Monday 28 February 2000

Saturday 04 March 2000

Saturday 11 March 2000

Saturday 18 March 2000

Saturday 25 March 2000

Saturday 01 April 2000

Tuesday 04 April 2000

Saturday 08 April 2000

Monday 17 April 2000

Monday 24 April 2000

Saturday 29 April 2000

Monday 01 May 2000

Saturday 06 May 2000