Sam Sodje Player Profile

Debut: Leigh RMI (A, 4-1), 10/04/2001

Sam followed in the footsteps of his legendary brother Efe by wearing the red and white stripes of Stevenage. Sam came through the EFCO scheme at the club and made his debut for the club against Leigh RMI in April 2001. He went on to make 32 appearances for the club, scoring two goals.

Sodje’s spell at Boro’, however, was a lot different to that of Efe’s. The young Nigerian was very raw and he had a lot of discipline issues while at the club. It was obvious that he had potential and that he could turn out to be a good player, but he was quite erratic.

In the end the management lost patience with him. He left Stevenage to sign for Margate at the start of the 2002/03 campaign. Sodje’s career has blossomed since leaving Broadhall Way. After a successful two years at Margate, Sodje moved into the football league with a move to Brentford.

Again, Sodje impressed and a move to the Premier League came when Reading signed him for £1m in 2006. Since then, the defender has gone on to play for West Brom, Leeds, Watford and Charlton Athletic.

Author: Matthew Kett

Tuesday 10 April 2001

Monday 16 April 2001

Wednesday 18 April 2001

Saturday 21 April 2001

Monday 23 April 2001

Saturday 28 April 2001

Monday 30 April 2001

Saturday 05 May 2001

Monday 27 August 2001

Saturday 01 September 2001

Monday 03 September 2001

Saturday 08 September 2001

Saturday 15 September 2001

Tuesday 18 September 2001

Saturday 22 September 2001

Saturday 29 September 2001

Monday 08 October 2001

Saturday 13 October 2001

Monday 15 October 2001

Saturday 20 October 2001

Saturday 27 October 2001

Tuesday 30 October 2001

Saturday 03 November 2001

Friday 25 January 2002

Saturday 02 February 2002

Saturday 09 February 2002

Saturday 09 March 2002

Saturday 23 March 2002

Tuesday 09 April 2002

Monday 15 April 2002

Thursday 18 April 2002

Saturday 20 April 2002