1990-1

Vauxhall Football League Division Two North

Most Appearances: Noel Blackwell - 56

Top Goalscorer: Jimmy Hughes - 32

Last Updated: 22 June 2022

1990-1

If there was a book of Boro’ records out there, you’ll find that the 1990-1 Vauxhall League Division Two North season is written all over it. Cloughie‘s debut season in charge of our club was some benchmark; the highest number of league points in a single season (107) and the most amount of league wins in a single season (34).

Of course, that’s all right at the time of writing. We’ll forget to change it if it’s not true, too.

Need more records? OK, so Boro’ clocked up 122 league goals as opponents fell by the wayside. Our 17 wins on the bounce between November and February, meanwhile, has little in the way of challenge. With all this record-breakery, it’s a little disappointing to say that cup progress was nothing more than muted.

Bishop’s Stortford and Hemel Hempstead cut short our FA Cup and FA Vase runs early on.

Full 1990-1 Details:

Saturday 18 August 1990

Monday 20 August 1990

Saturday 25 August 1990

Monday 27 August 1990

Saturday 01 September 1990

Tuesday 04 September 1990

Saturday 08 September 1990

Tuesday 11 September 1990

Saturday 15 September 1990

Tuesday 18 September 1990

Saturday 22 September 1990

Saturday 29 September 1990

Wednesday 03 October 1990

Saturday 06 October 1990

Tuesday 09 October 1990

Saturday 13 October 1990

Monday 15 October 1990

Saturday 20 October 1990

Monday 22 October 1990

Saturday 27 October 1990

Tuesday 30 October 1990

Saturday 03 November 1990

Thursday 08 November 1990

Saturday 10 November 1990

Wednesday 14 November 1990

Saturday 17 November 1990

Saturday 24 November 1990

Saturday 01 December 1990

Monday 03 December 1990

Saturday 08 December 1990

Saturday 15 December 1990

Saturday 22 December 1990

Wednesday 26 December 1990

Saturday 29 December 1990

Wednesday 02 January 1991

Saturday 05 January 1991

Saturday 12 January 1991

Monday 14 January 1991

Saturday 19 January 1991

Tuesday 22 January 1991

Saturday 26 January 1991

Tuesday 29 January 1991

Saturday 02 February 1991

Tuesday 05 February 1991

Saturday 23 February 1991

Tuesday 26 February 1991

Saturday 02 March 1991

Saturday 09 March 1991

Saturday 16 March 1991

Monday 18 March 1991

Saturday 23 March 1991

Monday 25 March 1991

Saturday 30 March 1991

Saturday 06 April 1991

Saturday 13 April 1991

Monday 15 April 1991

Thursday 18 April 1991

Saturday 20 April 1991

Tuesday 23 April 1991

Saturday 27 April 1991

Saturday 04 May 1991

1990-1 Boro' Rollcall

Name Pld Gls YC RC US
Keith Allan 1 (0) 0 0 0 0
Steve Armsby 0 (1) 0 0 0 0
Graham Aslett 4 (0) 0 0 0 1
Noel Blackwell 55 (1) 5 0 0 0
Dave Brown 40 (10) 10 1 0 0
Lee Burns 33 (11) 7 0 0 4
Terry Burns 3 (0) 1 0 0 1
Colin Cardines 28 (5) 18 0 0 0
Shaun Debnam 44 (2) 11 0 0 0
Vinny Dixon 2 (1) 0 0 0 1
Paul Fairclough 0 (2) 0 0 0 0
Dave Fawcett 6 (0) 0 0 0 1
Barry Ferdinand 5 (2) 1 0 0 0
Joe Gibbs 1 (2) 0 0 0 0
Shaun Hancock 6 (2) 0 0 0 1
Duncan Hardy 41 (2) 12 0 0 0
Liam Henderson 1 (1) 0 0 0 0
Andy Hudson 1 (1) 0 0 0 0
Jimmy Hughes 49 (4) 32 0 0 0
Ivan Humphreys 1 (0) 0 0 0 0
Martin Hunt 0 (1) 0 0 0 0
Gary Knight 2 (1) 0 0 0 0
Gary Laffar 3 (0) 1 0 0 0
Manuel Luque 0 (0) 0 0 0 2
Miguel Luque 34 (3) 4 0 0 0
Steve Manning 1 (0) 0 0 0 1
Shaun Marshall 31 (21) 21 1 0 1
Tony Martin 44 (0) 0 0 0 0
Richard Mays 4 (2) 0 0 0 0
Rob McComb 23 (3) 13 0 0 0
Colin McGill 50 (3) 3 0 0 0
Steve Mumford 0 (0) 0 0 0 1
Robbie O'Keefe 1 (0) 0 0 0 0
Kenny Page 1 (0) 0 0 0 0
Paul Palma 1 (0) 0 0 0 0
Tony Skeggs 2 (0) 0 0 0 0
Vic St Ange 1 (2) 0 0 0 0
Keith Tonge 4 (3) 3 0 0 2
Tony Ward 34 (17) 7 0 0 1
Alex Welsh 10 (0) 0 0 0 0
Lee Western 51 (0) 0 0 0 0
Ian Whitehead 53 (0) 1 0 0 0
Mark Willson 0 (1) 0 0 0 0

 

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1990-1 Vauxhall Football League Division Two North Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
Stevenage Borough
Vauxhall Motors (Luton)
3Billericay Town422281270412974
4Ware422281278512774
5Berkhamsted Town421911126051968
6Witham Town4219101370591167
7Thurrock4217141468571165
8Rainham Town421971657461164
9Hemel Hempstead Town421614126256662
10Barton Rovers421710156158361
11Saffron Walden Town421613137277-561
12Collier Row421611156363059
13Kingsbury Town42178176472-859
14Edgware Town42177187365858
15Hertford Town421610166970-158
16Royston Town4214151378621657
17Tilbury42146227079-948
18Basildon United421110216190-2943
19Hornchurch42109235387-3439
20Clapton42910235493-3934 ^
21Finchley42672950112-6224 •
22Tring Town4219323099-6912

* Vauxhall Motors (Luton) promoted but left Diadora League before 1991/2 season
^ Clapton deducted three points