Stevenage: 1990-1 Season Details

If there was a book of Boro’ records out there, you’ll find that the 1990-1 Vauxhall League Division Two North season is written all over it. Cloughie’s debut season in charge of our club was some benchmark; the highest number of league points in a single season (107) and the most amount of league wins in a single season (34).

Of course, that’s all right at the time of writing. We’ll forget to change it if it’s not true, too.

Need more records? OK, so Boro’ clocked up 122 league goals as opponents fell by the wayside. Our 17 wins on the bounce between November and February, meanwhile, has little in the way of challenge. With all this record-breakery, it’s a little disappointing to say that cup progress was nothing more than muted.

Bishop’s Stortford and Hemel Hempstead cut short our FA Cup and FA Vase runs early on.

Full 1990-1 Details:

Most Appearances: Noel Blackwell - 56
Top Goalscorer: Jimmy Hughes – 32

Saturday 18 August 1990

Monday 20 August 1990

Saturday 25 August 1990

Monday 27 August 1990

Saturday 01 September 1990

Tuesday 04 September 1990

Saturday 08 September 1990

Tuesday 11 September 1990

Saturday 15 September 1990

Tuesday 18 September 1990

Saturday 22 September 1990

Saturday 29 September 1990

Wednesday 03 October 1990

Saturday 06 October 1990

Tuesday 09 October 1990

Saturday 13 October 1990

Monday 15 October 1990

Saturday 20 October 1990

Monday 22 October 1990

Saturday 27 October 1990

Tuesday 30 October 1990

Saturday 03 November 1990

Thursday 08 November 1990

Saturday 10 November 1990

Wednesday 14 November 1990

Saturday 17 November 1990

Saturday 24 November 1990

Saturday 01 December 1990

Monday 03 December 1990

Saturday 08 December 1990

Saturday 15 December 1990

Saturday 22 December 1990

Wednesday 26 December 1990

Saturday 29 December 1990

Wednesday 02 January 1991

Saturday 05 January 1991

Saturday 12 January 1991

Monday 14 January 1991

Saturday 19 January 1991

Tuesday 22 January 1991

Saturday 26 January 1991

Tuesday 29 January 1991

Saturday 02 February 1991

Tuesday 05 February 1991

Saturday 23 February 1991

Tuesday 26 February 1991

Saturday 02 March 1991

Saturday 09 March 1991

Saturday 16 March 1991

Monday 18 March 1991

Saturday 23 March 1991

Monday 25 March 1991

Saturday 30 March 1991

Saturday 06 April 1991

Saturday 13 April 1991

Monday 15 April 1991

Thursday 18 April 1991

Saturday 20 April 1991

Tuesday 23 April 1991

Saturday 27 April 1991

Saturday 04 May 1991

1990-1 Boro' Rollcall

Sort Players By:

 

Pld Gls YC RC US
Keith Allan1 (0)0 000
Steve Armsby0 (1)0 000
Graham Aslett4 (0)0 001
Noel Blackwell55 (1)5 000
Dave Brown40 (10)10 100
Lee Burns34 (11)7 003
Terry Burns3 (0)1 000
Colin Cardines28 (4)18 001
Shaun Debnam44 (2)11 000
Vinny Dixon2 (1)0 001
Paul Fairclough0 (2)0 000
Dave Fawcett6 (0)0 001
Barry Ferdinand5 (2)1 000
Joe Gibbs1 (2)0 000
Shaun Hancock6 (2)0 001
Duncan Hardy41 (2)12 000
Liam Henderson1 (1)0 000
Andy Hudson1 (1)0 000
Jimmy Hughes49 (4)32 000
Ivan Humphreys1 (0)0 000
Martin Hunt0 (1)0 000
Gary Knight2 (1)0 000
Gary Laffar3 (0)1 000
Manuel Luque0 (0)0 001
Miguel Luque35 (3)4 000
Steve Manning1 (0)0 002
Shaun Marshall30 (19)21 103
Tony Martin43 (0)0 000
Richard Mays4 (1)0 001
Rob McComb23 (3)13 000
Colin McGill49 (3)3 000
Steve Mumford0 (0)0 001
Robbie O'Keefe1 (0)0 000
Kenny Page1 (0)0 000
Paul Palma1 (0)0 000
Tony Skeggs2 (0)0 000
Vic St Ange2 (2)0 000
Keith Tonge4 (3)3 002
Tony Ward34 (13)7 005
Alex Welsh10 (0)0 000
Lee Western51 (0)0 000
Ian Whitehead53 (0)1 000
Mark Willson0 (1)0 000

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1990-1 Vauxhall Football League Division Two North Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
Stevenage Borough
Vauxhall Motors (Luton)
3Billericay Town422281270412974
4Ware422281278512774
5Berkhamsted Town421911126051968
6Witham Town4219101370591167
7Thurrock4217141468571165
8Rainham Town421971657461164
9Hemel Hempstead Town421614126256662
10Barton Rovers421710156158361
11Saffron Walden Town421613137277-561
12Collier Row421611156363059
13Kingsbury Town42178176472-859
14Edgware Town42177187365858
15Hertford Town421610166970-158
16Royston Town4214151378621657
17Tilbury42146227079-948
18Basildon United421110216190-2943
19Hornchurch42109235387-3439
20Clapton42910235493-3934 ^
21Finchley42672950112-6224 •
22Tring Town4219323099-6912

* Vauxhall Motors (Luton) promoted but left Diadora League before 1991/2 season
^ Clapton deducted three points