Stevenage: 1987-8 Season Details

Relegation. It’s a word that you didn’t associate with Stevenage Borough; at least, not before the 1987-8 Vauxhall Opel League Division One season. For a team that were no strangers to firsts and setting new records, this was one we probably would have been happier without.

The first half of the campaign hadn’t been great, but it hadn’t been dismal either; there were no immediate signs of danger going into Christmas. After, however, was a whole different ball game. An abject second half of the season pulled Boro’ into the mire and there was no escaping.

After a 2-0 win over Worthing on 9 January, we lost seven league games on the spin. Then, we went on a six-game streak without scoring in April; y’know, the time when points were needed the most. By the time we took three points at Basildon on the final day, we were already gone; three points adrift of safety and ‘boasting’ the most number of defeats (22). Well, except the hapless Wolverton Town (36).

Full 1987-8 Details:

Most Appearances: Neil Madden and Graham Cox - 45
Top Goalscorer: Adrian Taylor – 9

Saturday 08 August 1987

Saturday 22 August 1987

Saturday 29 August 1987

Monday 31 August 1987

Saturday 05 September 1987

Saturday 12 September 1987

Monday 14 September 1987

Saturday 19 September 1987

Monday 21 September 1987

Saturday 26 September 1987

Monday 28 September 1987

Saturday 03 October 1987

Monday 05 October 1987

Saturday 10 October 1987

Saturday 17 October 1987

Monday 19 October 1987

Saturday 24 October 1987

Tuesday 27 October 1987

Saturday 31 October 1987

Wednesday 04 November 1987

Saturday 07 November 1987

Saturday 14 November 1987

Tuesday 17 November 1987

Saturday 21 November 1987

Tuesday 24 November 1987

Saturday 05 December 1987

Tuesday 08 December 1987

Saturday 12 December 1987

Monday 14 December 1987

Saturday 19 December 1987

Saturday 26 December 1987

Saturday 09 January 1988

Saturday 16 January 1988

Tuesday 19 January 1988

Monday 01 February 1988

Saturday 06 February 1988

Monday 08 February 1988

Saturday 13 February 1988

Monday 15 February 1988

Saturday 20 February 1988

Saturday 27 February 1988

Monday 29 February 1988

Saturday 05 March 1988

Saturday 12 March 1988

Thursday 17 March 1988

Saturday 19 March 1988

Tuesday 22 March 1988

Saturday 26 March 1988

Saturday 02 April 1988

Monday 04 April 1988

Saturday 09 April 1988

Tuesday 12 April 1988

Saturday 16 April 1988

Tuesday 19 April 1988

Saturday 23 April 1988

Saturday 30 April 1988

1987-8 Boro' Rollcall

Sort Players By:

 

Pld Gls YC RC US
Carl Boreham1 (0)0 000
Dave Cooper32 (1)1 000
Steve Cox4 (0)0 000
Graham Cox44 (1)8 100
Paul Cumberbatch20 (8)8 012
Kenny Dixon19 (0)0 012
Gary French5 (1)1 000
Jon Friend14 (6)1 000
Des Gallagher32 (0)1 000
Joe Gibbs1 (1)0 000
Graham Harding17 (6)2 004
Lawrence Honey38 (0)0 001
Andy Hudson0 (1)0 000
Jimmy Hughes8 (0)0 000
Andy Hughes0 (0)1 000
Neil Jeffrey1 (0)0 000
Clive Kemplen13 (0)0 000
Mark Lincoln6 (2)3 003
Neil Madden42 (3)2 002
Steve Manning1 (0)0 001
Ricky Marshall2 (0)0 000
Andy McCollin2 (0)0 000
Grant McRae0 (3)0 001
Geoff Mills3 (0)0 000
Martin Murray2 (3)0 005
Chris Myers17 (1)3 002
Dave Parratt6 (1)0 000
Lee Payne2 (0)0 000
Mark Phillips3 (1)0 000
Doug Pirie32 (0)4 000
Peter Shadbolt1 (2)0 007
Steve Shea1 (2)0 000
Gary Sisman1 (0)0 000
Andy Slade12 (0)0 000
Herbie Smith2 (0)1 000
Robbie Stanley0 (0)0 006
Adrian Taylor37 (0)9 000
John Templeton42 (1)3 002
Mark Timpson32 (1)8 000
Denny Tyler38 (1)1 011
Mark Vooght13 (2)0 000
David Watkins38 (6)2 001
Martin Westley10 (0)0 000

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1987-8 Vauxhall Opel League Division One Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
Marlow
Grays Athletic
3Woking422571091524982
4Boreham Wood422191265452072
5Staines Town4219111271482368
6Wembley421811135446865
7Basildon United42189156558763
8Walton & Hersham421516115344961
9Hampton & Richmond Borough421710155954561
10Leatherhead4216111564531159
11Southwick421312175963-451
12Oxford City421312177077-751
13Worthing42148206773-650
14Kingsbury Town421117146269-750
15Walthamstow Avenue421311185363-1050
16Lewes421213178377649
17Uxbridge421116154147-649
18Chesham United421210206977-846
19Bracknell Town42129215480-2645
20Billericay Town421111205888-3044
21Stevenage Borough42119223664-2842
22Wolverton Town42333623124-10112