Stevenage: 1982-3 Season Details

The United Counties League Premier Division had proved much tougher than Division One for us, due in no short part to the quality of opposition. The 1982-3 campaign saw Boro’ look to build on their debut outing in the Premier Division. But there were few signs of progress as the club finished 12th for a second successive season.

Boro’ didn’t take part in the FA Cup in 1982-3, but did participate in the FA Vase. We were drawn to play Uxbridge in the preliminary round and took the Middlesex side to two replays, but couldn’t find a way past; eventually going down 5-3 in the second replay.

Meanwhile, a 7-1 defeat to Hitchin Town was a lowlight of the rather dismal Woolwich Trophy campaign that season.

Full 1982-3 Details:

Most Appearances: Graham Cox - 40
Top Goalscorer: Ronnie Lear – 13

Thursday 26 August 1982

Tuesday 31 August 1982

Saturday 04 September 1982

Monday 06 September 1982

Saturday 11 September 1982

Monday 20 September 1982

Saturday 25 September 1982

Monday 27 September 1982

Saturday 02 October 1982

Saturday 09 October 1982

Tuesday 12 October 1982

Saturday 16 October 1982

Monday 18 October 1982

Monday 25 October 1982

Saturday 30 October 1982

Tuesday 02 November 1982

Saturday 06 November 1982

Monday 08 November 1982

Saturday 13 November 1982

Tuesday 16 November 1982

Saturday 20 November 1982

Monday 29 November 1982

Thursday 02 December 1982

Saturday 04 December 1982

Saturday 11 December 1982

Saturday 18 December 1982

Monday 27 December 1982

Monday 03 January 1983

Saturday 08 January 1983

Saturday 15 January 1983

Saturday 22 January 1983

Monday 24 January 1983

Saturday 29 January 1983

Tuesday 01 February 1983

Saturday 05 February 1983

Saturday 26 February 1983

Wednesday 02 March 1983

Saturday 05 March 1983

Saturday 12 March 1983

Saturday 19 March 1983

Saturday 26 March 1983

Saturday 02 April 1983

Tuesday 05 April 1983

Saturday 09 April 1983

Saturday 16 April 1983

Tuesday 19 April 1983

Friday 22 April 1983

Monday 25 April 1983

Saturday 30 April 1983

Saturday 07 May 1983

1982-3 Boro' Rollcall

Sort Players By:

 

Pld Gls YC RC US
Jimmy Armstrong2 (0)0 000
Wes Atwell25 (0)6 000
Kingsley Bailey3 (0)0 000
Steve Barrett11 (0)1 000
Des Bartley1 (0)0 000
Terry Broom16 (0)1 000
Darren Coates1 (0)0 000
Graham Cox40 (0)9 100
Mitch Dee27 (0)2 000
Phil Dunn3 (0)0 000
Martin Gittings29 (2)11 000
Ken Halliday1 (2)0 100
Micky Herring7 (1)1 000
Andy Hughes30 (0)6 300
John Huxtable6 (0)0 001
Lee Jacobs7 (0)3 000
Paul Johnson9 (3)2 100
Joe Josiah14 (4)6 000
Ronnie Lear28 (2)13 000
Richard Mays0 (0)0 001
Derek Montgomery1 (0)0 001
Richard Noakes3 (1)0 000
Terry O'Neill11 (1)0 000
Graham Pearce7 (1)0 010
Doug Pirie8 (1)0 000
Mark Powell16 (0)1 100
Derrick Remington23 (0)2 000
Martin Steadman10 (3)1 000
Delvin Stevens23 (0)2 000
David Tilley1 (0)0 000
Gary Turner18 (0)0 000
Frank Tyler24 (4)3 000
Denny Tyler9 (0)0 001
Rob Walker8 (0)0 000
Malcolm Ward1 (1)0 000
Mick Westley16 (0)0 010

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1982-3 United Counties League Premier Division Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
1Irthlingborough Diamonds341911461273449
2Rushden Town34199665382747
3Stamford34141374640641
4Bourne Town341412855401540
5Potton United341313848361239
6Desborough Town341661258461238
7Long Buckby341312956441238
8Wootton Blue Cross34121396155637
9Arlesey Town34149114948137
10Buckingham Town34138134251-934
11Newport Pagnell Town34717104241131
12Stevenage Borough341010145156-530
13Holbeach United34911146055529
14S&L Corby34911144454-1029
15Ampthill Town34107175766-927
16Rothwell Town34109154055-1527 *
17Eynesbury Rovers3478192860-3222
18Kempston Rovers3447233990-5115

* Rothwell Town deducted two points