Stevenage: 1993-4 Season Details

For Stevenage Borough, there simply wasn’t any time to catch a breath during the early 1990s – and the 1993-4 campaign would only add to that. Cloughie’s side were like the proverbial runaway train; speeding up the pyramid almost at will. With this title-winning season, Boro’ were off to the Conference.

Enfield, to be fair, made a good fist of keeping pace with us over the course of the season. The north London club couldn’t, however, stop us from making our stay in the Diadora League Premier Division a brief one.

Martin Gittings, not for the first time, was our chief protagonist in attack. Just the 40 goals for Gitts in 1993-4, from not that many more appearances too. We guess that, with that kind of record, you don’t need much extra in the way of luck. Many clubs would hope to half as good a season as ours in 1992-3. For us, though, it pales in comparison to what we achieved one year on.

Full 1993-4 Details:

Most Appearances: Tony Joyce and Mark Smith - 58
Top Goalscorer: Martin Gittings – 40

Saturday 14 August 1993

Saturday 21 August 1993

Monday 23 August 1993

Saturday 28 August 1993

Tuesday 31 August 1993

Saturday 04 September 1993

Monday 06 September 1993

Saturday 11 September 1993

Tuesday 14 September 1993

Saturday 18 September 1993

Monday 20 September 1993

Saturday 25 September 1993

Monday 27 September 1993

Saturday 02 October 1993

Monday 04 October 1993

Saturday 09 October 1993

Monday 11 October 1993

Tuesday 19 October 1993

Saturday 23 October 1993

Tuesday 26 October 1993

Saturday 30 October 1993

Tuesday 02 November 1993

Saturday 06 November 1993

Monday 08 November 1993

Saturday 13 November 1993

Saturday 20 November 1993

Saturday 27 November 1993

Tuesday 30 November 1993

Saturday 04 December 1993

Monday 06 December 1993

Saturday 11 December 1993

Monday 13 December 1993

Saturday 18 December 1993

Monday 27 December 1993

Saturday 01 January 1994

Saturday 15 January 1994

Monday 17 January 1994

Saturday 22 January 1994

Tuesday 25 January 1994

Saturday 29 January 1994

Monday 31 January 1994

Friday 04 February 1994

Saturday 05 February 1994

Saturday 19 February 1994

Saturday 26 February 1994

Monday 28 February 1994

Saturday 05 March 1994

Thursday 10 March 1994

Saturday 12 March 1994

Tuesday 15 March 1994

Saturday 19 March 1994

Monday 21 March 1994

Saturday 26 March 1994

Tuesday 29 March 1994

Thursday 31 March 1994

Monday 04 April 1994

Wednesday 06 April 1994

Saturday 09 April 1994

Monday 11 April 1994

Saturday 16 April 1994

Monday 18 April 1994

Thursday 21 April 1994

Saturday 23 April 1994

Tuesday 26 April 1994

Saturday 30 April 1994

Saturday 07 May 1994

1993-4 Boro' Rollcall

Sort Players By:

 

Pld Gls YC RC US
Glen Alzapiedi20 (2)0 003
Marvin Bates3 (0)0 000
Scott Beeke1 (0)0 001
Stuart Beevor0 (1)0 000
Jason Bertie2 (2)0 000
Noel Blackwell15 (7)0 006
Shaun Brooks2 (0)0 000
Dave Brown17 (16)4 008
Steve Burgess2 (0)0 000
Colin Cardines4 (2)1 000
Simon Clark23 (0)2 000
Gary Crawshaw19 (0)8 003
Scott Cretton5 (0)0 000
Mick Cuffie7 (0)0 001
Shaun Debnam42 (6)4 003
Lee Dowden2 (3)0 002
Roy Edwards0 (3)0 001
Neil Fairbairn4 (0)0 000
Des Gallagher47 (0)0 000
Martin Gittings49 (5)40 004
Steve Graham40 (2)5 000
Barry Hayles13 (0)2 004
Rudi Hedman40 (0)2 000
Paul Hobbs8 (0)1 001
Greg Howell4 (2)1 002
Neil Hutchins0 (0)0 001
Tony Joyce58 (0)0 000
Tony Lynch6 (0)0 000
Richard Mays1 (0)0 000
Jason McCauley2 (1)0 000
Rob McComb1 (2)0 000
Colin McGill11 (0)0 001
Craig Morgan4 (0)0 000
Richard Nolan1 (0)0 000
Richard Nugent51 (0)5 000
Mickey Nunn2 (5)0 000
Adam Parker10 (3)6 007
Sean Pearson14 (1)3 001
Ricky Phillips0 (0)0 001
Nigel Plummer1 (0)0 000
Nigel Reed4 (0)1 000
Mark Sellar1 (0)0 000
Mark Shanley19 (3)2 002
Phil Simpson16 (0)3 002
Mark Smith58 (0)5 000
Jamie Southon3 (0)1 000
Brian Stein16 (1)13 001
Nick Thompson5 (0)0 001
Tony Vega1 (1)0 000
Dave Venables48 (3)20 001
Lee Wakefield2 (0)0 000
John Walker3 (0)1 000
Steve Wallduck1 (0)0 000
Rob Wild1 (0)0 000
Paul Wilkerson2 (0)0 000
Alan Wilkinson15 (3)0 000

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1993-4 Diadora League Premier Division Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
Stevenage Borough
2Enfield42288680285292
3Marlow422571090672382
4Chesham United422481073452880
5Sutton United422310977314679
6Carshalton Athletic422271381532873
7St Albans City4221101181542773
8Hitchin Town422171481562570
9Harrow Borough421811135456-265
10Kingstonian4218915101643763
11Hendon421891561511063
12Aylesbury United42177186467-358
13Hayes42158196372-953
14Grays Athletic42155225669-1350
15Bromley42147215669-1349
16Dulwich Hamlet42138215274-2247
17Yeading421113185866-846
18Molesey421111204462-1844
19Wokingham Town42116253867-2939
20Dorking42942958104-4631
21Basingstoke Town42512253886-4827
22Wivenhoe Town42533438152-11418