Stevenage: 1999-00 Season Details

The moral of the 1999-00 story is that a football season is a marathon, not a sprint. And going too hard too soon can get you pretty much nowhere. For Stevenage Borough, this season was a bit ‘meh’ in the end. There’s little to shout about and, equally, little to moan about. Unless you count the cup competitions. Yeah, don’t look there.

It all started with a bang bigger than The Big Bang Theory; six damn good wins out of six under Dickie Hill. For some reason, however, we let the rot get in and set in. We matched our points tally from the opening six games after that, sure. In about three times as many games, mind. It’s no surprise it was to cost Hill his job.

In all that, too, came exits at the first hurdles of the FA Cup (Bath City) and FA Trophy (Yeovil Town). All the while, we were pottering around the mid-section of the Conference table with nothing to play for after the turn of the year.

So, out went Hill. And it was the first test for chairman Phil Wallace, who himself was new to the club in summer 1999; saving the club from closure. That’s by the by. Phil’s first new managerial was the experienced Steve Wignall. All well and good, but for Wignall’s highly itchy feet. After eight games, he’d naffed off to Doncaster.

Charmed, Steve.

Full 1999-00 Details:

Most Appearances: Chris Taylor and Ryan Kirby and Mark Smith and Carl Alford - 45
Top Goalscorer: Carl Alford – 26

Saturday 14 August 1999

Monday 16 August 1999

Saturday 21 August 1999

Tuesday 24 August 1999

Saturday 28 August 1999

Monday 30 August 1999

Saturday 04 September 1999

Saturday 11 September 1999

Saturday 18 September 1999

Saturday 25 September 1999

Saturday 02 October 1999

Saturday 09 October 1999

Saturday 16 October 1999

Tuesday 19 October 1999

Saturday 23 October 1999

Saturday 30 October 1999

Saturday 06 November 1999

Tuesday 09 November 1999

Sunday 14 November 1999

Saturday 27 November 1999

Monday 29 November 1999

Saturday 04 December 1999

Saturday 11 December 1999

Saturday 18 December 1999

Monday 27 December 1999

Monday 03 January 2000

Saturday 08 January 2000

Saturday 15 January 2000

Saturday 22 January 2000

Saturday 29 January 2000

Saturday 05 February 2000

Saturday 12 February 2000

Wednesday 16 February 2000

Saturday 19 February 2000

Monday 28 February 2000

Saturday 04 March 2000

Saturday 11 March 2000

Saturday 18 March 2000

Saturday 25 March 2000

Saturday 01 April 2000

Tuesday 04 April 2000

Saturday 08 April 2000

Monday 17 April 2000

Saturday 22 April 2000

Monday 24 April 2000

Saturday 29 April 2000

Monday 01 May 2000

Saturday 06 May 2000

1999-00 Boro' Rollcall

Sort Players By:

 

Pld Gls YC RC US
Carl Alford44 (1)26 200
Paul Armstrong0 (4)0 004
James Ayres6 (0)0 000
Gordon Barr0 (1)0 005
David Bass9 (0)0 200
Bobby Behzadi0 (1)0 0010
Chris Collins4 (1)0 004
Lewis Field0 (1)0 000
Steve Forbes4 (2)1 201
Andy Futcher3 (0)0 000
Des Gallagher1 (0)0 000
Ross Harrison14 (10)0 308
Lee Harvey33 (2)0 402
James Hasell2 (0)0 0011
Bobby Highton0 (1)0 006
Danny Hockton19 (2)6 201
Ray Houghton5 (0)0 000
Lee Howarth41 (2)1 601
Lee Kersey4 (1)0 008
Ian King17 (1)0 207
Ryan Kirby41 (4)4 602
Richard Leadbeater18 (20)5 108
Michael Love39 (3)2 610
Dean Martin21 (3)3 300
Dave McGhee0 (2)0 001
Sam McMahon9 (0)1 400
Rob Miller10 (2)1 005
Dave Morrison3 (2)1 100
Dominic Naylor1 (4)0 008
James Ougham0 (1)0 000
Chris Pearson1 (6)1 006
Colin Pluck3 (0)0 000
Dwayne Plummer2 (4)0 104
Anthony Samuels15 (12)8 106
Mark Smith44 (1)0 400
Jimmy Strouts21 (1)4 414
Chris Taylor45 (0)0 200
Robin Trott22 (0)1 412
Mark Whittamore0 (0)0 004
Paul Wood0 (0)0 0011
Gary Wraight27 (6)2 502

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1999-00 Nationwide Conference Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
Kidderminster Harriers
2Rushden & Diamonds422113871422976
3Morecambe421816870482270
4Scarborough4219121160352569
5Kingstonian422071558441467
6Dover Athletic421812126556966
7Yeovil Town421810146063-364
8Hereford United421514136152959
9Southport421513145556-158
10Stevenage Borough42169176056457
11Hayes42168185758-156
12Doncaster Rovers42159184648-254
13Kettering Town421216144450-652
14Woking421313164553-852
15Nuneaton Borough421215154953-451
16Telford United42149195666-1051
17Hednesford Town42156214568-2351
18Northwich Victoria421312175378-2551
19Forest Green Rovers42138215463-947
20Welling United42138215466-1241
21Altrincham42919245160-946
22Sutton United42810243975-3634