Stevenage: 2019-20 Season Details

It started with so much optimism – but the 2019-20 season did not go according to plan for Boro’. And that was true in many more ways than one. Dino Maamria prepared for his second full season at the helm by making more changes than perhaps expected; out went 12 players from the previous campaign’s squad – including Alex Revell, who was hanging up his boots. The recruitment process, however, suggests it was part of a bigger plan.

As far as the league goes, there was only one new face to contend with; Salford City up from the National League. And it would be at Salford that we’d start our campaign live on Sky. We’re not sure if it was ‘cos our kit design choice got tongues wagging. Or was it the somewhat famous owners that Salford had at the time?

Both in the FA Cup and League Cup, Boro’ fell at the first hurdle – though, in the former, we went to a replay with an in-form Peterborough United side before our run came to its end. There was, to be fair, some joy in the Leasing.com Trophy. For the first time, Boro’ made it through to the knockout stages. Which is something, isn’t it?

It kinda has to be, given our awful run of form in the league that had seen us win fewer matches than we’d had men in charge by the start of March. A relegation dogfight was unavoidable and it seemed, for much of the second half of the campaign, that a return to non-league action was inevitable. Except that second half of the 2019-20 campaign came to quite an abrupt end; a global pandemic curtailing the season and forcing the authorities to find a solution to settle on-pitch affairs. It’d have a major impact on us.

Full 2019-20* Details:

Most Appearances: Paul Farman - 41
Top Goalscorer: Charlie Carter – 6

Saturday 03 August 2019

Saturday 10 August 2019

Tuesday 13 August 2019

Saturday 17 August 2019

Tuesday 20 August 2019

Saturday 24 August 2019

Saturday 31 August 2019

Tuesday 03 September 2019

Saturday 07 September 2019

Saturday 14 September 2019

Tuesday 17 September 2019

Saturday 21 September 2019

Saturday 28 September 2019

Saturday 05 October 2019

Tuesday 08 October 2019

Saturday 12 October 2019

Saturday 19 October 2019

Tuesday 22 October 2019

Saturday 26 October 2019

Tuesday 29 October 2019

Saturday 02 November 2019

Saturday 09 November 2019

Tuesday 19 November 2019

Saturday 23 November 2019

Tuesday 03 December 2019

Saturday 07 December 2019

Saturday 14 December 2019

Saturday 21 December 2019

Thursday 26 December 2019

Sunday 29 December 2019

Wednesday 01 January 2020

Saturday 04 January 2020

Wednesday 08 January 2020

Saturday 11 January 2020

Tuesday 14 January 2020

Saturday 18 January 2020

Tuesday 21 January 2020

Saturday 25 January 2020

Tuesday 28 January 2020

Saturday 01 February 2020

Saturday 08 February 2020

Tuesday 11 February 2020

Saturday 15 February 2020

Saturday 22 February 2020

Saturday 07 March 2020

2019-20 Boro' Rollcall

Name Pld Gls YC RC US
Sacha Bastien4 (0)0 0041
Jack Berman0 (0)0 001
Joel Byrom6 (1)0 105
Canice Carroll2 (2)0 100
Charlie Carter31 (6)6 102
Jake Cassidy9 (1)1 100
Jason Cowley14 (10)5 209
Scott Cuthbert25 (1)2 201
Diaguely Dabo9 (0)0 100
Tyler Denton17 (2)0 4010
Paul Digby19 (1)0 202
Adam El-Abd1 (3)0 005
Paul Farman41 (0)0 702
Luis Fernandez6 (4)0 308
Jamie Fielding3 (3)0 003
Ben Folami0 (2)0 000
Sam French0 (0)0 001
Andronicos Georgiou0 (1)0 000
Kurtis Guthrie21 (5)5 304
Noor Husin8 (4)0 105
Arthur Iontton7 (4)0 0019
Simeon Jackson2 (3)0 000
Dan Kemp5 (1)1 100
Ben Kennedy13 (8)0 103
Charlie Lakin23 (2)2 302
Joe Leesley9 (1)0 000
Elliott List24 (3)3 101
Craig Mackail-Smith9 (14)1 105
Danny Newton6 (4)2 001
Ben Nugent26 (2)0 601
David Parkhouse2 (2)0 000
Dean Parrett16 (6)1 705
Patrick Reading1 (0)0 101
Alex Revell0 (2)0 001
Joel Rollinson0 (2)0 005
Jack Smith0 (0)0 005
Liam Smyth0 (2)0 002
Tom Soares19 (1)0 419
Emmanuel Sonupe9 (5)1 107
Chris Stokes30 (0)0 500
Paul Taylor6 (6)0 1010
Michael Timlin16 (7)0 602
Mackye Townsend-West0 (0)0 001
Terence Vancooten15 (5)0 204
Kelland Watts18 (2)0 301
Luther Wildlin23 (0)1 300

 

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

2019-20 Sky Bet League Two Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
Crewe Alexandra
Swindon Town
Plymouth Argyle
4Exeter City371811853431065
5Cheltenham Town361713652272564
6Colchester United371513952371558
Northampton Town
8Port Vale37141585044657
9Bradford City371412114440454
10Salford City371311134946350
11Forest Green Rovers361310134340349
12Crawley Town371115115147448
13Grimsby Town371211144551-647
14Walsall36138154049-947
15Newport County361210143239-746
16Cambridge United37129164048-845
17Leyton Orient361012144755-842
18Carlisle United371012153956-1742
19Oldham Athletic37914144457-1341
20Scunthorpe United371010174456-1240
21Mansfield Town36911164855-738
22Morecambe37711193560-2532
23Stevenage36313202450-2625
24Macclesfield Town37715153247-1519 *

* Macclesfield Town deducted 17 points