2019-20

Sky Bet League Two

Most Appearances: Paul Farman - 41

Top Goalscorer: Charlie Carter - 6

Last Updated: 02 October 2020

2019-20

It started with so much optimism – but the 2019-20 season did not go according to plan for Boro’. And that was true in many more ways than one. Dino Maamria prepared for his second full season at the helm by making more changes than perhaps expected; out went 12 players from the previous campaign’s squad – including Alex Revell, who was hanging up his boots. The recruitment process, however, suggests it was part of a bigger plan.

As far as the league goes, there was only one new face to contend with; Salford City up from the National League. And it would be at Salford that we’d start our campaign live on Sky. We’re not sure if it was ‘cos our kit design choice got tongues wagging. Or was it the somewhat famous owners that Salford had at the time?

Both in the FA Cup and League Cup, Boro’ fell at the first hurdle – though, in the former, we went to a replay with an in-form Peterborough United side before our run came to its end. There was, to be fair, some joy in the Leasing.com Trophy. For the first time, Boro’ made it through to the knockout stages. Which is something, isn’t it?

It kinda has to be, given our awful run of form in the league that had seen us win fewer matches than we’d had men in charge by the start of March. A relegation dogfight was unavoidable and it seemed, for much of the second half of the campaign, that a return to non-league action was inevitable. Except that second half of the 2019-20 campaign came to quite an abrupt end; a global pandemic curtailing the season and forcing the authorities to find a solution to settle on-pitch affairs. It’d have a major impact on us.

Full 2019-20* Details:

Saturday 03 August 2019

Saturday 10 August 2019

Tuesday 13 August 2019

Saturday 17 August 2019

Tuesday 20 August 2019

Saturday 24 August 2019

Saturday 31 August 2019

Tuesday 03 September 2019

Saturday 07 September 2019

Saturday 14 September 2019

Tuesday 17 September 2019

Saturday 21 September 2019

Saturday 28 September 2019

Saturday 05 October 2019

Tuesday 08 October 2019

Saturday 12 October 2019

Saturday 19 October 2019

Tuesday 22 October 2019

Saturday 26 October 2019

Tuesday 29 October 2019

Saturday 02 November 2019

Saturday 09 November 2019

Tuesday 19 November 2019

Saturday 23 November 2019

Tuesday 03 December 2019

Saturday 07 December 2019

Saturday 14 December 2019

Saturday 21 December 2019

Thursday 26 December 2019

Sunday 29 December 2019

Wednesday 01 January 2020

Saturday 04 January 2020

Wednesday 08 January 2020

Saturday 11 January 2020

Tuesday 14 January 2020

Saturday 18 January 2020

Tuesday 21 January 2020

Saturday 25 January 2020

Tuesday 28 January 2020

Saturday 01 February 2020

Saturday 08 February 2020

Tuesday 11 February 2020

Saturday 15 February 2020

Saturday 22 February 2020

Saturday 07 March 2020

2019-20 Boro' Rollcall

Name Pld Gls YC RC US
Sacha Bastien 4 (0) 0 0 0 41
Jack Berman 0 (0) 0 0 0 1
Joel Byrom 6 (1) 0 1 0 5
Canice Carroll 2 (2) 0 1 0 0
Charlie Carter 31 (6) 6 1 0 2
Jake Cassidy 9 (1) 1 1 0 0
Jason Cowley 14 (10) 5 2 0 9
Scott Cuthbert 25 (1) 2 2 0 1
Diaguely Dabo 9 (0) 0 1 0 0
Tyler Denton 17 (2) 0 4 0 10
Paul Digby 19 (1) 0 2 0 2
Adam El-Abd 1 (3) 0 0 0 5
Paul Farman 41 (0) 0 7 0 2
Luis Fernandez 6 (4) 0 3 0 8
Jamie Fielding 3 (3) 0 0 0 3
Ben Folami 0 (2) 0 0 0 0
Sam French 0 (0) 0 0 0 1
Andronicos Georgiou 0 (1) 0 0 0 0
Kurtis Guthrie 21 (5) 5 3 0 4
Noor Husin 8 (4) 0 1 0 5
Arthur Iontton 7 (4) 0 0 0 19
Simeon Jackson 2 (3) 0 0 0 0
Luther James-Wildin 23 (0) 1 3 0 0
Dan Kemp 5 (1) 1 1 0 0
Ben Kennedy 13 (8) 0 1 0 3
Charlie Lakin 23 (2) 2 3 0 2
Joe Leesley 9 (1) 0 0 0 0
Elliott List 24 (3) 3 1 0 1
Craig Mackail-Smith 9 (14) 1 1 0 5
Danny Newton 6 (4) 2 0 0 1
Ben Nugent 26 (2) 0 6 0 1
David Parkhouse 2 (2) 0 0 0 0
Dean Parrett 16 (6) 1 7 0 5
Patrick Reading 1 (0) 0 1 0 1
Alex Revell 0 (2) 0 0 0 1
Joel Rollinson 0 (2) 0 0 0 5
Jack Smith 0 (0) 0 0 0 5
Liam Smyth 0 (2) 0 0 0 2
Tom Soares 19 (1) 0 4 1 9
Emmanuel Sonupe 9 (5) 1 1 0 7
Chris Stokes 30 (0) 0 5 0 0
Paul Taylor 6 (6) 0 1 0 10
Michael Timlin 16 (7) 0 6 0 2
Mackye Townsend-West 0 (0) 0 0 0 1
Terence Vancooten 15 (5) 0 2 0 4
Kelland Watts 18 (2) 0 3 0 1

 

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

2019-20 Sky Bet League Two Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
Crewe Alexandra
Swindon Town
Plymouth Argyle
4Exeter City371811853431065
5Cheltenham Town361713652272564
6Colchester United371513952371558
Northampton Town
8Port Vale37141585044657
9Bradford City371412114440454
10Salford City371311134946350
11Forest Green Rovers361310134340349
12Crawley Town371115115147448
13Grimsby Town371211144551-647
14Walsall36138154049-947
15Newport County361210143239-746
16Cambridge United37129164048-845
17Leyton Orient361012144755-842
18Carlisle United371012153956-1742
19Oldham Athletic37914144457-1341
20Scunthorpe United371010174456-1240
21Mansfield Town36911164855-738
22Morecambe37711193560-2532
23Stevenage36313202450-2625
24Macclesfield Town37715153247-1519 *

* Macclesfield Town deducted 17 points