Kurtis Guthrie Player Profile

Debut: Crawley Town (A, 3-1), 11/08/2018

Here’s hoping Kurtis Guthrie isn’t unlucky number 13 for Boro’; the striker being the 13th summer signing made by boss Dino Maamria in 2018. The addition of Guthrie ahead of the 2018-9 League Two campaign certainly didn’t leave us short of firepower; the player coming in with plenty of experience to boot.

For Maamria, the player was brought in as “an out-and-out number nine; very strong, mobile and he has always scored goals”. And who could turn down such a proposition. Goals, after all, do win games. It’s not as snappy a title as Pets Win Prizes, but it’s a lot more relevant and that’s what we’re here to be.

The striker’s form was up and down in parts of the season, but it’s not how you start. A total of 14 goals saw him finish as our top scorer for the campaign; not an unreasonable return from 36 appearances in total. His partnership with loanee Ilias Chair in particular lit up the club and nearly pushed us into the playoff places at the right time.

Guthrie came in on a free transfer, having left Colchester United but not short of offers. His time with the Us saw injuries affect it, albeit not to the point of it being ravaging. That said, his move to us was seen as a chance for him to get back on track and continue to show what he is all about.

Prior to his time in Essex, Kurtis Guthrie had banged ’em in for Forest Green Rovers and Welling United. Before that, he’d been at Bath too; the Romans’ providing a welcome port of call after his spell at Accrington. While with Stanley, he’d been to Southport on loan.

As a native of Jersey, Guthrie also follows in the footsteps of, well, Peter Vincenti. Needless to say, the two players were in stark contrast to each other. The striker certainly had the potential to equal, if not better, the impact Vincenti had at the Lamex, however.

Saturday 11 August 2018

Tuesday 14 August 2018

Saturday 18 August 2018

Tuesday 21 August 2018

Saturday 25 August 2018

Tuesday 28 August 2018

Saturday 01 September 2018

Saturday 08 September 2018

Saturday 22 September 2018

Saturday 29 September 2018

Tuesday 02 October 2018

Saturday 06 October 2018

Saturday 20 October 2018

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Saturday 27 October 2018

Saturday 03 November 2018

Tuesday 06 November 2018

Saturday 10 November 2018

Saturday 17 November 2018

Saturday 15 December 2018

Wednesday 26 December 2018

Saturday 29 December 2018

Tuesday 01 January 2019

Saturday 02 February 2019

Saturday 09 February 2019

Saturday 23 February 2019

Saturday 02 March 2019

Saturday 09 March 2019

Tuesday 12 March 2019

Saturday 16 March 2019

Saturday 23 March 2019

Saturday 30 March 2019

Saturday 06 April 2019

Monday 22 April 2019

Saturday 27 April 2019

Saturday 04 May 2019

Saturday 03 August 2019

Saturday 10 August 2019

Tuesday 13 August 2019

Saturday 17 August 2019

Tuesday 20 August 2019

Saturday 31 August 2019

Saturday 07 September 2019

Saturday 14 September 2019