Stevenage: 1996-7 Season Details

For missed opportunities, the 1996-7 campaign could well be seen as ‘the one’ for reigning GM Vauxhall Conference champions Stevenage Borough. After the off-field distraction that was the unsuccessful court case against the Football League, Boro’ had to win the title all over again to gain promotion.

It didn’t happen.

Long runs in the FA Cup and FA Trophy were enjoyable enough at the time. Games in hand, however, were piling up for Cloughie’s side as we went into the home straight. It was us, Macclesfield and Kidderminster vying for top spot. It was also a unique group; three sides each denied promotion. So, all were looking to right some archaic League wrongs.

Boro’ and Kiddy, as it goes, had already set a new Conference record. At that time, you couldn’t imagine 6,500 cramming in for a league match. Yet, that’s how it was. A home howler against Macclesfield, however, was the fatal blow to Boro’s title challenge. Two goals up and a man to the good, the Silkmen stormed back to win 3-2.

We had to settle for third. To add insult to injury too, Woking dumped us out of the FA Trophy after the two-legged semi-final inexplicably had to go to a replay. At Watford. Did we not like that…

Full 1996-7 Details:

Most Appearances: Mark Smith - 60
Top Goalscorer: Barry Hayles – 25

Saturday 10 August 1996

Saturday 17 August 1996

Monday 19 August 1996

Saturday 24 August 1996

Monday 26 August 1996

Saturday 31 August 1996

Monday 02 September 1996

Saturday 07 September 1996

Monday 09 September 1996

Saturday 14 September 1996

Monday 16 September 1996

Saturday 21 September 1996

Tuesday 24 September 1996

Saturday 28 September 1996

Wednesday 02 October 1996

Saturday 05 October 1996

Monday 07 October 1996

Saturday 12 October 1996

Tuesday 15 October 1996

Saturday 19 October 1996

Saturday 26 October 1996

Saturday 02 November 1996

Saturday 09 November 1996

Saturday 16 November 1996

Tuesday 19 November 1996

Saturday 23 November 1996

Tuesday 26 November 1996

Saturday 30 November 1996

Saturday 07 December 1996

Saturday 14 December 1996

Saturday 21 December 1996

Thursday 26 December 1996

Wednesday 01 January 1997

Saturday 04 January 1997

Saturday 11 January 1997

Saturday 18 January 1997

Monday 20 January 1997

Saturday 25 January 1997

Saturday 01 February 1997

Saturday 08 February 1997

Saturday 15 February 1997

Monday 17 February 1997

Saturday 22 February 1997

Saturday 01 March 1997

Saturday 08 March 1997

Saturday 15 March 1997

Monday 17 March 1997

Saturday 22 March 1997

Tuesday 25 March 1997

Saturday 29 March 1997

Monday 31 March 1997

Saturday 05 April 1997

Tuesday 08 April 1997

Saturday 12 April 1997

Monday 14 April 1997

Wednesday 16 April 1997

Saturday 19 April 1997

Monday 21 April 1997

Wednesday 23 April 1997

Saturday 26 April 1997

Tuesday 29 April 1997

Saturday 03 May 1997

1996-7 Boro' Rollcall

Sort Players By:

 

Pld Gls YC RC US
Carl Adams12 (8)4 009
Malcolm Allen0 (0)0 002
Paul Barrowcliff53 (2)4 000
Marvin Bates1 (0)1 000
Stuart Beevor45 (5)4 003
Mike Bignall10 (4)4 000
Corey Browne40 (14)19 002
Steve Butler1 (0)0 000
Neil Catlin35 (3)11 105
Gary Crawshaw32 (12)17 004
Scott Cretton9 (2)0 008
Lee Endersby3 (0)0 000
Des Gallagher46 (0)0 012
Dominic Gentle8 (2)0 000
Dominic Grime4 (0)0 000
Barry Hayles36 (7)25 000
Dean Hooper29 (0)1 000
Noel Imber0 (0)0 007
Ryan Kirby38 (0)1 000
Michael Mison9 (0)5 000
Robbie Mutchell50 (3)0 002
Alan Paris14 (3)0 001
Mark Smith60 (0)0 000
Efetobore Sodje55 (1)7 000
Jason Soloman13 (0)3 000
Shaun Stevens0 (2)0 002
Neil Trebble13 (19)8 006
John Ugbah10 (10)3 000
Dave Venables15 (7)2 000
Matt Vier1 (0)0 001
Kenny Webster24 (0)4 001
Richard Wilmot16 (1)0 0023

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1996-7 GM Vauxhall Conference Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
Macclesfield Town
2Kidderminster Harriers42267984424285
3Stevenage Borough422410887533482
4Morecambe421991469561366
5Woking421810147163864
6Northwich Victoria421712136154763
7Farnborough421613135853561
8Hednesford Town421612145250260
9Telford United421610164656-1058
10Gateshead421511165963-456
11Southport421510175161-1055
12Rushden & Diamonds421411176163-253
13Stalybridge Celtic421410185358-552
14Kettering Town42149195362-951
15Hayes421214166265-350
16Slough Town421214165768-1150
17Dover Athletic421311185573-1850
18Welling United421213175355-249
19Halifax Town42139205060-1048
20Bath City421211195380-2747
21Bromsgrove Rovers42125254167-2641
22Altrincham42912214973-2439