Robbie Mutchell Player Profile

Debut: Gateshead (A, 2-2), 02/09/1995

Robbie, as you’ll all be aware, got the ‘undredth. That is to say, Robbie Mutchell was the man to bring up our ton in our 1995-6 Conference title-winning campaign. It might have been his only goal that season, but we’re still talking about it.

Despite living in the West Midlands and training as an accountant, Mutchell was part of an iconic Boro’ side. He had been a professional footballer, but the decision not to allow us into the Football League meant he was never afforded a second crack.

The Birmingham native joined Oxford United straight out of school, before turning pro at the Manor Ground. After that, he moved down to Barnet and was part of the Bees’ side that secured a goalless draw against Chelsea in the FA Cup at Stamford Bridge.

Paul Fairclough moved to secure his services after he was released by Barnet. It had to wait, however, as “contractual complications” meant the left-back went part-time with the likes of Bromsgrove Rovers and Telford United. It could have been so different.

In 1995, however, fate intervened. Boro’ had recruited left back Geoff Cooper. Geoff never featured though, leaving for Hong Kong. Mutchell describes how he came to Broadhall Way with Telford United in August 1995 and ended up responding to Cloughie’s call.

“We did the deal the following week, and little did I know that my next game would be on the same pitch; only in the red and white of Stevenage”. Robbie’s comments are taken from a 1997 matchday programme, in case you were wondering.

Saturday 02 September 1995

Tuesday 05 September 1995

Saturday 09 September 1995

Tuesday 12 September 1995

Saturday 16 September 1995

Monday 18 September 1995

Saturday 23 September 1995

Saturday 30 September 1995

Saturday 07 October 1995

Saturday 14 October 1995

Saturday 21 October 1995

Monday 23 October 1995

Saturday 28 October 1995

Saturday 04 November 1995

Saturday 11 November 1995

Saturday 18 November 1995

Saturday 25 November 1995

Saturday 02 December 1995

Saturday 09 December 1995

Saturday 16 December 1995

Monday 01 January 1996

Saturday 06 January 1996

Monday 08 January 1996

Saturday 13 January 1996

Saturday 20 January 1996

Saturday 03 February 1996

Saturday 10 February 1996

Tuesday 13 February 1996

Saturday 17 February 1996

Saturday 24 February 1996

Saturday 02 March 1996

Monday 04 March 1996

Saturday 09 March 1996

Tuesday 12 March 1996

Saturday 16 March 1996

Saturday 23 March 1996

Monday 25 March 1996

Saturday 30 March 1996

Saturday 06 April 1996

Monday 08 April 1996

Saturday 13 April 1996

Tuesday 16 April 1996

Saturday 20 April 1996

Saturday 27 April 1996

Monday 29 April 1996

Saturday 04 May 1996

Saturday 31 August 1996

Saturday 07 September 1996

Monday 09 September 1996

Saturday 14 September 1996

Saturday 21 September 1996

Saturday 28 September 1996

Wednesday 02 October 1996

Saturday 05 October 1996

Monday 07 October 1996

Saturday 12 October 1996

Tuesday 15 October 1996

Saturday 19 October 1996

Saturday 26 October 1996

Saturday 02 November 1996

Saturday 09 November 1996

Saturday 16 November 1996

Saturday 23 November 1996

Tuesday 26 November 1996

Saturday 30 November 1996

Saturday 07 December 1996

Saturday 14 December 1996

Saturday 21 December 1996

Thursday 26 December 1996

Wednesday 01 January 1997

Saturday 04 January 1997

Saturday 11 January 1997

Saturday 18 January 1997

Monday 20 January 1997

Saturday 25 January 1997

Saturday 01 February 1997

Saturday 08 February 1997

Saturday 15 February 1997

Monday 17 February 1997

Saturday 22 February 1997

Saturday 01 March 1997

Saturday 08 March 1997

Saturday 15 March 1997

Monday 17 March 1997

Saturday 22 March 1997

Tuesday 25 March 1997

Saturday 29 March 1997

Monday 31 March 1997

Saturday 05 April 1997

Tuesday 08 April 1997

Saturday 12 April 1997

Monday 14 April 1997

Wednesday 16 April 1997

Saturday 19 April 1997

Monday 21 April 1997

Wednesday 23 April 1997

Saturday 26 April 1997

Tuesday 29 April 1997

Saturday 03 May 1997