Stevenage: 1995-6 Season Details

For almost too long, the 1995-6 GM Vauxhall Conference campaign was the pinnacle of our club’s achievements; the best non-league team in the land. The obvious comment is that we didn’t get promotion at that time. And the other obvious comment is that we now have, so let it lie.

Fine.

Either way, the 1995-6 season will forever stay with those who were there to see it. This was a Boro’ side fresh up the pyramid and not caring much for reputation. It was also the first time we came up against a glass ceiling. That Football League promotion stuff again. In truth, however, it stopped us realising just how good Cloughie’s Boro’ side were at that time.

We did, at least, become the latest side to stand between Woking and their own glory. Seems a while ago now, doesn’t it Cards?

The start to the season was far from spectacular. Boro’ got into their stride towards Christmas, however. Runcorn found out to their own cost, conceding eight against us on their own patch. More famous and more crushing, though, was our 4-0 conquering of Woking on Easter Monday. It was perhaps the result that did more than most to decide the fate of the Conference trophy.

Full 1995-6 Details:

Most Appearances: Mark Smith - 50
Top Goalscorer: Barry Hayles – 34

Tuesday 15 August 1995

Saturday 19 August 1995

Tuesday 22 August 1995

Saturday 26 August 1995

Monday 28 August 1995

Saturday 02 September 1995

Tuesday 05 September 1995

Saturday 09 September 1995

Tuesday 12 September 1995

Saturday 16 September 1995

Monday 18 September 1995

Saturday 23 September 1995

Saturday 30 September 1995

Saturday 07 October 1995

Saturday 14 October 1995

Saturday 21 October 1995

Monday 23 October 1995

Saturday 28 October 1995

Saturday 04 November 1995

Saturday 11 November 1995

Saturday 18 November 1995

Saturday 25 November 1995

Tuesday 28 November 1995

Saturday 02 December 1995

Monday 04 December 1995

Saturday 09 December 1995

Monday 11 December 1995

Saturday 16 December 1995

Monday 01 January 1996

Wednesday 03 January 1996

Saturday 06 January 1996

Monday 08 January 1996

Saturday 13 January 1996

Saturday 20 January 1996

Saturday 03 February 1996

Saturday 10 February 1996

Tuesday 13 February 1996

Saturday 17 February 1996

Saturday 24 February 1996

Saturday 02 March 1996

Monday 04 March 1996

Saturday 09 March 1996

Tuesday 12 March 1996

Saturday 16 March 1996

Saturday 23 March 1996

Monday 25 March 1996

Saturday 30 March 1996

Saturday 06 April 1996

Monday 08 April 1996

Saturday 13 April 1996

Tuesday 16 April 1996

Saturday 20 April 1996

Monday 22 April 1996

Saturday 27 April 1996

Monday 29 April 1996

Saturday 04 May 1996

1995-6 Boro' Rollcall

Sort Players By:

 

Pld Gls YC RC US
Paul Barrowcliff45 (4)8 002
Marvin Bates3 (3)1 005
Scott Beeke4 (4)0 004
Stuart Beevor19 (9)2 009
Steve Berry45 (1)2 000
Corey Browne35 (2)16 001
Keith Coughlin0 (1)0 000
Gary Crawshaw17 (7)9 002
Scott Cretton12 (9)1 007
Des Gallagher31 (1)0 0011
Michael Gonzague3 (0)0 000
Nicholas Grime2 (2)0 002
Dominic Grime2 (2)0 000
Kelly Haag1 (1)1 000
Barry Hayles47 (2)34 000
David Howell1 (0)0 002
Gary Hoy1 (1)0 000
Danny Huggins0 (2)0 000
Andy Keepence1 (1)0 000
Tony Lynch35 (1)10 000
Shaun Marshall18 (20)9 004
Robbie Mutchell45 (1)1 000
Richard Nugent15 (3)3 001
Alan Paris5 (0)0 002
Mark Phillips2 (1)0 001
Phil Simpson15 (1)0 001
Mark Smith50 (0)7 000
Efetobore Sodje47 (1)5 000
Neil Trebble6 (2)2 000
Dave Venables35 (5)13 001
Matt Vier0 (2)0 001
Kenny Webster46 (0)4 000
Grant Wedlock3 (0)0 000
Richard Wilmot25 (2)0 0019

Key:

  • Apps = Appearances (Substitute Appearances)
  • Gls = Goals Scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1995-6 GM Vauxhall Conference Table

Pl W D L F A GD Pts
1Stevenage Borough4227105101445791
2Woking42258983542983
3Hednesford Town422371271462576
4Macclesfield Town422291166491775
5Gateshead4218131158461267
6Southport4218121277641366
7Kidderminster Harriers4218101478661264
8Northwich Victoria421612147264860
9Morecambe42178177872659
10Farnborough421514136358559
11Bromsgrove Rovers421514135957259
12Altrincham421513145964-559
13Telford United421510175156-555
14Stalybridge Celtic42169175968-955
15Halifax Town421313164963-1452
16Kettering Town42139206884-1648
17Slough Town42138216376-1347
18Bath City42137224566-2146
19Welling United421015174253-1145
20Dover Athletic42117245174-2340
21Runcorn4298254887-3935
22Dagenham & Redbridge42712234373-3033