Arthur Read Player Profile

On loan from Brentford

Debut: Barrow (A, 1-1), 12/09/2020

With the 2020-1 League Two campaign just about to start, young midfielder Arthur Read came in on loan from Brentford. The verdict from boss Alex Revell was glowing; showing why we moved in for the lad. And that’s despite him not getting a massive amount of first-team action before arriving here. According to the gaffer, Read “is an energetic, dynamic and tenacious midfielder who is left footed so adds some real balance and quality to our side”. Who can honestly say that qualities like that wouldn’t go down well at the Lamex?

Arthur Read: Before Boro’

For Read, it all started at Luton Town. But nobody’s perfect. In fact, it started quite early. The midfielder signed on the dotted line before our editor was able to colour in-between the lines. From Under-9 level, he made his way through the Hatters’ academy set-up; a scholarship secured in February 2016 to lift him onto the next stage of his development. By the end of the year, he’d turned out for the first team and gone pro.

At Kenilworth Road, his senior action came in the EFL Trophy. Otherwise, Read’s game time came more often than not in the development and U18 squads. After spending one month on loan at Hemel Hempstead Town in early 2019, he returned to the Hatters. The offer of a new development contract in the summer, however, wasn’t to his liking. So, he left the club and moved to Brentford; playing for the Championship side’s B team.

Saturday 12 September 2020

Saturday 19 September 2020

Tuesday 22 September 2020

Saturday 26 September 2020

Saturday 03 October 2020

Tuesday 06 October 2020

Saturday 10 October 2020

Saturday 17 October 2020

Tuesday 20 October 2020

Saturday 24 October 2020

Tuesday 27 October 2020

Saturday 31 October 2020

Tuesday 03 November 2020

Saturday 07 November 2020

Saturday 14 November 2020

Tuesday 17 November 2020

Saturday 21 November 2020