Martyn Thompson Player Profile

Debut: ON Chenecks (H, 3-1), 16/08/1980

We don’t think there’s much wrong with calling Martyn Thompson the original number one. He was, after all, our stopper at the start of the 1980-1 campaign. And you can’t say fairer than that in our book. But it nearly didn’t happen for him with us. After joining us from BAC, he was a regular fixture in the line-up until injury struck. And that first season was blighted by it; knee cartilage issues making him come close to jacking it all in.

He came back, however. Injury limited him to just three outings between November 1980 and May 1981. But he reclaimed his spot in goal as boss Derek Montgomery kept faith in his original number one. In fact, his association with Stevenage football goes back further than summer 1980 too; Thompson playing understudy to Athletic stopper Mick Gevaux.

Oddly enough, however, he lived quite a different life when playing for BAC. As a striker, he had a ruthless goalscoring streak. But it wasn’t one that Monty could ever turn to; the stopper preferring to keep goals out of our net rather than put them in the opposition’s. It seems fair enough to us – he did a decent job of doing the former to justify that call.

Thursday 13 August 1981

Saturday 22 August 1981

Saturday 05 September 1981

Wednesday 09 September 1981

Saturday 12 September 1981

Saturday 19 September 1981

Monday 21 September 1981

Saturday 26 September 1981

Monday 28 September 1981

Saturday 03 October 1981

Saturday 10 October 1981

Tuesday 13 October 1981

Saturday 17 October 1981

Tuesday 20 October 1981

Wednesday 28 October 1981

Saturday 31 October 1981

Monday 02 November 1981

Saturday 07 November 1981

Monday 09 November 1981

Saturday 14 November 1981

Monday 16 November 1981

Saturday 21 November 1981

Saturday 28 November 1981

Saturday 05 December 1981

Saturday 02 January 1982

Tuesday 05 January 1982

Wednesday 20 January 1982

Saturday 23 January 1982

Tuesday 26 January 1982

Saturday 30 January 1982

Saturday 06 February 1982

Saturday 13 February 1982

Saturday 20 February 1982

Wednesday 24 February 1982

Saturday 27 February 1982

Saturday 06 March 1982

Thursday 11 March 1982

Saturday 13 March 1982

Saturday 27 March 1982

Saturday 03 April 1982

Tuesday 06 April 1982

Thursday 08 April 1982

Saturday 10 April 1982

Saturday 17 April 1982

Tuesday 20 April 1982

Saturday 24 April 1982

Tuesday 27 April 1982

Saturday 08 May 1982

Tuesday 11 May 1982

 

Saturday 16 August 1980

Tuesday 19 August 1980

Saturday 23 August 1980

Monday 25 August 1980

Saturday 30 August 1980

Saturday 20 September 1980

Saturday 27 September 1980

Saturday 03 January 1981

Saturday 10 January 1981

Saturday 24 January 1981

Saturday 07 February 1981