Joe Fryer Player Profile

Debut: Newport County (H, 3-3), 05/08/2017

From one Boro’ to another; goalkeeper Joe Fryer arrived at Stevenage in summer 2017 on loan from Middlesbrough. The young stopper came to the Lamex at a time when then-current number one, Jamie Jones, was stalling on a new contract. It was just as well too. Jones was to eventually move on, leaving Fryer a free run at the number one shirt.

Fryer had gained valuable League Two experience the season before he came to Boro’. In spite of all the difficulties he faced as Hartlepool United lost their fight against relegation to the Conference in 2016-7, Fryer still impressed. Indeed, Sarll sent scouts to watch him in action on a number of occasions.

The ‘keeper made plenty of appearances during the 2017-8 League Two campaign. His run between the sticks did come to an end, however, when Boro’ made another move into the loan market that term. Tom King’s arrival from Millwall saw Fryer relegated to the bench. After that, he spent much of the second half of the season playing second fiddle to King.

Saturday 05 August 2017

Tuesday 08 August 2017

Saturday 12 August 2017

Saturday 19 August 2017

Saturday 26 August 2017

Saturday 02 September 2017

Saturday 09 September 2017

Tuesday 12 September 2017

Saturday 16 September 2017

Saturday 23 September 2017

Tuesday 26 September 2017

Saturday 30 September 2017

Saturday 07 October 2017

Saturday 14 October 2017

Tuesday 17 October 2017

Saturday 21 October 2017

Saturday 28 October 2017

Saturday 04 November 2017

Tuesday 07 November 2017

Saturday 11 November 2017

Saturday 18 November 2017

Tuesday 21 November 2017

Saturday 25 November 2017

Saturday 02 December 2017

Saturday 09 December 2017

Saturday 16 December 2017

Saturday 23 December 2017

Tuesday 26 December 2017

Saturday 30 December 2017

Monday 01 January 2018

Saturday 28 April 2018

Saturday 05 May 2018