Ben Wilmot Player Profile

Debut: MK Dons (A, 0-0), 03/10/2017

From youth team to our record transfer in the blink of the eye; the rise of young centre half Ben Wilmot was a rapid one to say the very least. Did we mention that he was part of an England U19 squad alongside lads from Dortmund and Man City. Yep, it’s fair to say that Wilmot was a trailblazer in Boro’ terms; his stay, however, not to be a long one.

If the name Wilmot rings a bell when you think of this centre half, it’s with good reason. It’s because Ben is the son of Boro’ goalkeeping legend Richard Wilmot. And you can be sure the chance to follow in his father’s footsteps at the Lamex was one to relish. Like his father too, Ben’s talents were rewarded with a move higher up in the footballing pyramid.

It’s all relative, of course; Ben joining Premier League side Watford from us in League Two, while Richard moved to Division Three (now League Two) side Scunthorpe United when we were working our way up the Diadora League ladder. But we are digressing a little here, don’t you think.

Ben broke into the first team under Darren Sarll during the 2017-8 campaign. He’d already stood out as a member of Boro’s successful FA Youth Cup team the previous season. His debut came in the Checkatrade Trophy, but soon he was featuring almost as a regular at the heart of our defence. And, for a young lad, he didn’t look half assured with it.

 

Ben Wilmot: After Boro’

January 2018 saw us knock back approaches from Premier League sides; Liverpool and Spurs mooted alongside Watford. In April 2018, however, Wilmot’s run in the first team came to an end; coming back from international duty and taken out of the squad as what proved to be a lucrative transfer drew closer.

Tuesday 03 October 2017

Saturday 04 November 2017

Tuesday 07 November 2017

Saturday 06 January 2018

Saturday 13 January 2018

Tuesday 16 January 2018

Saturday 20 January 2018

Saturday 27 January 2018

Tuesday 30 January 2018

Saturday 03 February 2018

Saturday 10 February 2018

Tuesday 13 February 2018

Saturday 17 February 2018

Saturday 24 February 2018

Saturday 10 March 2018