Joseph Anang Player Profile

On loan from West Ham United

Debut: Barrow (H, 1-0), 07/08/2021

Last Updated: 06 August 2021

“Stevenage are a big club in League Two with… great fans”; Joseph Anang with the words that made sure that we’d warm to him from the very start. The young West Ham United goalkeeper joined Boro’ on loan in summer 2021. And it says much about how well his predecessor, Jamie Cumming, fared here on loan during the 2020-1 season. Inspired by the Chelsea stopper’s time, the club clearly felt comfortable enough to go for the full-season loan arrangement again.

Like Cumming, Anang arrived with a huge amount of promise and potential. He’d already seen his stock rise a lot at the Hammers; learning his trade with the first team squad as early as 18-years-old. For his parent club, the stopper is described as a “jovial character with rapid reflexes and admirable agility” – and that all sounds gravy to us. The step up from U23 football to senior Football League action isn’t a small one. But it all sounds as if this lad is well-equipped to do so.

Joseph Anang: Before Boro’

After helping the Hammers to the 2019-20 Premier League 2 Division 2 title, that next step is now – and with us. On joining the club, Anang said: “Stevenage’s style of play is something that attracted me to the Club. I learnt a lot last season in the Premier League 2, and now I am looking forward to learning more in League Two. The gaffer has told me what he expects from me, and that he has put his faith in me.”

 

Saturday 07 August 2021

Tuesday 10 August 2021

Saturday 14 August 2021

Tuesday 17 August 2021

Saturday 21 August 2021

Tuesday 24 August 2021

Saturday 04 September 2021

Saturday 11 September 2021

Saturday 18 September 2021

Saturday 25 September 2021

Saturday 02 October 2021

Tuesday 05 October 2021

Saturday 09 October 2021

Saturday 16 October 2021

Tuesday 19 October 2021

Saturday 06 November 2021

Tuesday 30 November 2021

 

 

Previous Clubs:

West Ham United

Later Clubs: