Billy Johnson


Apps: 1 (0)

Goals: 0

Last Updated: 28 March 2024

Debut: vs. MK Dons (H, 2-3), 06/10/2020

Young stopper Billy Johnson became the fifth new face for us in summer 2020; coming with a "real presence" and "real quality"

Billy Johnson

Date of Birth: 25-09-1999

Place of Birth:

“A real presence for such a young man and has real quality with his distribution and shot stopping” – Boro’ gaffer Alex Revell was clearly made up with his fifth summer signing in July 2020. Young goalkeeper Billy Johnson became the latest addition to Revs’ new-look squad after departing Norwich City. It was also a switch that seemed (at least) to suit the lad too. “It feels great,” admitted Johnson. “I am glad we could get the deal over the line and I am looking forward to what can come for the future.”

At the time he arrived, we still didn’t know what league would be in. It was also unclear if Boro’ were in need of a new number one; Paul Farman‘s contract talks rumbling on in the background. But neither of these matter. Johnson’s drive and desire stood out as soon as he walked through the doors at Bragbury End. And any stopper who says his football idol is Gianluigi Buffon can only be planning big things from his career. The hope is, of course, that it all starts with us at the Stadio del Lamex in the 2020-1 season.

Billy Johnson: Before Boro’

So, the Canaries is where it all started for Johnson; the goalkeeper signing for them after coming through a local youth programme after playing for Beccles. In his time at Carrow Road, there were appearances for their U23 side; featuring in two EFL Trophy games too. There were no senior outings to speak of at Norwich. But he did get his first tastes of first team action out on loan. First, he joined Lowestoft Town at the start of the 2018-9 season. Then, he turned out for Braintree Town; the club at which he caught our eye.


Tuesday 06 October 2020

Previous Clubs:

Braintree Town (loan)
Lowestoft Town (loan)
Norwich City

Later Clubs:

Braintree Town (2021)
Gloucester City (2022)
Braintree Town (2023)
Leiston (2023)
Kettering Town (2023)
Wroxham (2024)