Keith Keane Player Profile

Debut: Newport County (H, 2-1), 07/03/2015

Keith Keane was added to the Stevenage ranks – albeit on a temporary basis – in March 2015, with Preston North End agreeing to former manager Graham Westley’s request to bring the defender/midfielder to the Lamex on a loan arrangement. And it wasn’t the first time that GW had sought to sign the player for Boro’.

Born in Luton, Keane was signed up by his hometown club as a youngster and went onto make his debut for the Hatters aged just 16 in a Football League Trophy pairing with Rushden and Diamonds. He obviously made an impact, with a healthy number of further appearances made in what was then called Division Two. Within two seasons, he’d be playing in the Championship and for Ireland U21s.

Keane remained with Luton during the period of financial troubles that saw the club plummet down the pyramid and into the Conference. And still he remained at the club even when Stevenage, now a League One side in 2011, came calling with two bids that were rebuffed by Luton Town.

His departure from Kenilworth Road came a year later, however, as Graham Westley got his man with the lure of League One football up at Deepdale and Preston North End. After GW left the club, Keane signed a contract extension to keep him at Deepdale until summer 2015 – but first team chances started to decrease in number, and it was to be Crawley Town that offered the next port of call on a loan arrangement, before Boro’ swooped in spring 2015.

The Hertfordshire club twice again turned to Keane’s services in 2016, with his extra bite in midfield a much-needed addition as Boro’ struggled at the wrong end of the table – first in January and once again towards the end of March.

Saturday 07 March 2015

Saturday 14 March 2015

Tuesday 17 March 2015

Saturday 21 March 2015

Monday 30 March 2015

Friday 03 April 2015

Tuesday 14 April 2015

Saturday 16 January 2016

Saturday 23 January 2016

Saturday 30 January 2016

Tuesday 09 February 2016

Saturday 20 February 2016

Friday 25 March 2016