Simon Walton Player Profile

Debut: Southend United (A, 0-2), 16/08/2014

A tenacious midfielder, Simon Walton was signed by manager Graham Westley in summer 2014 to add a robust dimension to Boro’s midfield ahead of the 2014-5 League Two season. He arrived at the Hertfordshire club having been released by his former employers, and divisional rivals, Hartlepool United.

In two years at Hartlepool, he made a significant number of appearances and gained valuable experience of playing at League One and Two levels. And it was Hartlepool that had ended four years on the books of Plymouth Argyle; a time punctuated by loan spells and Argyle’s financial difficulties.

Walton started his career at hometown club Leeds United and immediately sprang to attention by getting sent off in a friendly against Valencia aged 16. But he was obviously doing something right, with England caps at U16, U17 and U19 levels.

After making a decent number of appearances for Leeds during his two years at Elland Road, less fruitful spells at Charlton Athletic and QPR followed before he moved down to Home Park.

Having firmly established himself as a very useful League One and League Two player, his signature for Stevenage offered the chance for him to drag Boro’ back up the pyramid with thoughts of kicking on even further.

It almost came to fruition, too. Boro’ gallantly went down to a strong Southend United team in the 2015 League Two playoffs with Walton a key fixture in the midfield. With the club looking to take a different direction going forward, however, Walton found himself allowed to leave the club that summer.

Saturday 16 August 2014

Tuesday 19 August 2014

Saturday 23 August 2014

Saturday 30 August 2014

Tuesday 02 September 2014

Saturday 06 September 2014

Saturday 13 September 2014

Saturday 01 November 2014

Sunday 09 November 2014

Saturday 15 November 2014

Thursday 20 November 2014

Saturday 29 November 2014

Saturday 13 December 2014

Friday 26 December 2014

Saturday 10 January 2015

Saturday 17 January 2015

Saturday 24 January 2015

Saturday 31 January 2015

Saturday 07 February 2015

Tuesday 10 February 2015

Saturday 14 February 2015

Saturday 21 February 2015

Saturday 28 February 2015

Monday 02 March 2015

Saturday 07 March 2015

Monday 30 March 2015

Friday 03 April 2015

Monday 06 April 2015

Saturday 11 April 2015

Tuesday 14 April 2015

Saturday 18 April 2015

Saturday 02 May 2015

Thursday 14 May 2015