Oliver Risser Player Profile

Debut: Dagenham & Redbridge (A, 2-3), 04/09/2012

In a frantic end to the summer 2012 transfer window for Stevenage, midfielder Oliver Risser joined the Hertfordshire club on loan from fellow League One outfit Swindon Town – reportedly with the view of making it a permanent arrangement.

The Namibian international brought with him extensive experience of playing in leagues around the world. After starting his career in his homeland with Ramblers, Risser moved to Germany with SpVgg EGC Wirges in 1993 and spent a large chunk of the following years in the country’s lower divisions.

In addition to Germany, the midfielder spent time in a handful of Scandinavian countries, before securing a trial with Swindon Town. The player was given a contract by Paolo Di Canio and was named captain. However, injury curtailed his opportunities at the County Ground.

Boro’ manager Gary Smith opted to strengthen his midfield in late summer 2012 and provided Risser with a renewed opportunity to make a name for himself in the English game. After scoring on his Swindon debut, Boro’ had hoped for much the same effect at the Lamex.

It had been thought that the loan arrangement was the precursor to a permanent deal for the midfielder, but it failed to turn out that way. After making just a handful of appearances for the Hertfordshire club and scoring once, Risser returned to his parent club in early 2013.

Tuesday 04 September 2012

Sunday 09 September 2012

Tuesday 18 September 2012

Saturday 22 September 2012

Saturday 29 September 2012

Tuesday 02 October 2012

Saturday 06 October 2012

Saturday 13 October 2012

Saturday 20 October 2012

Tuesday 23 October 2012

Saturday 27 October 2012

Tuesday 06 November 2012

Saturday 17 November 2012