James Ball Player Profile

Debut: Tranmere Rovers (H, 2-2), 04/08/2018  

“I want to be a big player for the club and I can’t wait to show the supporters what I am all about” – a bold statement from new signing James Ball; the midfielder becoming Stevenage’s first inbound transfer of summer 2018. In making his move up to League Two from Stockport County, Ball also became the first signing made by gaffer Dino Maamria; the Tunisian taking charge of the club during the second half of the 2017-8 campaign.

The 22-year-old enforcer arrived at the Lamex off the back of a decent season at Edgeley Park. In scoring 11 goals from his midfield berth, Ball’s contribution powered the Hatters towards the National League North playoffs. The club’s efforts to gain promotion to the National League was ultimately unsuccessful, however. And the exchange of a five-figure sum would see Ball move south to Stevenage ahead of the 2018-9 League Two season.

Before his time at Stockport, Ball had turned out for both Stalybridge Celtic and Northwich Victoria. At the Vics, he was part of a side that reached the FA Cup 2nd Round and a play-off final. His transfer to us, however, was to be the first time Ball had played in the Football League. With his ability to chip in with goals from the middle of the park, there was plenty of anticipation to see what he could do in the red and white of Boro’.

For some reason or another, however, it didn’t work out. One year later, he was on the move to Ebbsfleet United; fleeting glimpses of his abilities during his time at the Lamex not enough to convince Maamria he was worth keeping on. With the boss also bringing in new recruits to a busy midfield, Ball was made available for transfer and the Kent side duly stepped in to snap him up.

Saturday 04 August 2018

Saturday 11 August 2018

Tuesday 14 August 2018

Saturday 18 August 2018

Tuesday 21 August 2018

Saturday 25 August 2018

Saturday 08 September 2018

Saturday 15 September 2018

Tuesday 02 October 2018

Saturday 06 October 2018

Tuesday 09 October 2018

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Tuesday 06 November 2018

Saturday 17 November 2018

Saturday 15 December 2018

Saturday 22 December 2018

Saturday 12 January 2019

Saturday 19 January 2019

Saturday 26 January 2019

Saturday 16 February 2019

Saturday 23 February 2019