Tom King Player Profile

Debut: Reading (H, 0-0), 06/01/2018

Tom King marked the start of Stevenage’s inbound transfer activity during the January 2018 transfer window. Boro’ boss Darren Sarll swooped to sign the stopper on loan for the rest of the 2017-8 campaign from Millwall. This, however, was despite us having Joe Fryer (on loan from Middlesbrough) and veteran Chris Day on the books.

King arrived at the Lamex after signing a new contract with the Championship club. He had been at the New Den for three-and-a-half-years up to that point; making the move from Crystal Palace in August 2014. At Selhurst Park, King had turned pro; he had also been on the books of Portsmouth and Manchester 62 as a youth player before, however.

 

Tom King: Before Boro’

After signing a one-year deal with Millwall, the young ‘keeper was loaned to Conference side Welling United a year later. This was an initial one-month youth loan deal; 20 first team appearances later, however, he was recalled by his parent club. Two months after that, out King went on loan again; this time, to Braintree Town on an emergency loan. And it was at the Essex side that he was involved in a fairly bizarre incident.

Undeterred by the incident, King remained at Braintree long beyond the initial 28-day period; to the end of the season, in fact. He even helped the club come within a whisker of the Conference playoff final. Back to Millwall that summer, then, and a first appearance for the Lions in August. In addition, King has also turned out for England at U16 and U17 level. Now, Boro’ are next to reap the benefits of this young goalkeeper’s talents.

Saturday 06 January 2018

Saturday 13 January 2018

Tuesday 16 January 2018

Saturday 20 January 2018

Saturday 27 January 2018

Tuesday 30 January 2018

Saturday 03 February 2018

Saturday 10 February 2018

Tuesday 13 February 2018

Saturday 17 February 2018

Saturday 24 February 2018

Saturday 10 March 2018

Saturday 17 March 2018

Saturday 24 March 2018

Friday 30 March 2018

Monday 02 April 2018

Saturday 07 April 2018

Tuesday 10 April 2018

Saturday 14 April 2018

Friday 20 April 2018