Brett Williams Player Profile

Debut: Notts County (H, 0-2), 08/08/2015

One of the first men signed by Teddy Sheringham after taking over as Stevenage manager in summer 2015 was, perhaps fittingly, a striker. Brett Williams was that man, arriving at the Lamex after a two-year spell with Conference outfit Aldershot Town.

The Southampton-born striker had a successful stay down at the Recreation Ground, however. Williams netted around 40 times in just short of 100 outings; a favourable record but one that couldn’t quite lift the Shots back up to the League. And it was that form that caught the eye of many.

Williams joined Aldershot Town ahead of the 2013-4 season having been let go by Reading. He failed to break into the first team at the Madejski Stadium and had to make do with loan spells – at Rotherham, Northampton and Woking, all of which reaped the benefits of his goalscoring ability.

Before making the switch to Reading, Williams plyed his trade at non-league level at a handful of Hampshire clubs close to his native Southampton. He turned out for Eastleigh – his first senior club – in three separate spells, while AFC Totton and Winchester City also made use of his services.

With his summer 2015 switch to Boro’, it saw Williams return to the Football League after a three-year absence; Northampton his last taste of League action in 2012. Having proved that his goalscoring boots worked in the Conference, the hope was that they’d still function just as well in League Two.

Saturday 08 August 2015

Tuesday 11 August 2015

Saturday 15 August 2015

Tuesday 18 August 2015

Saturday 22 August 2015

Saturday 29 August 2015

Saturday 05 September 2015

Saturday 12 September 2015

Saturday 19 September 2015

Tuesday 29 September 2015

Saturday 03 October 2015

Wednesday 07 October 2015

Sunday 11 October 2015

Saturday 17 October 2015

Tuesday 20 October 2015

Saturday 24 October 2015

Saturday 14 November 2015