Dave Martin Player Profile

Debut: Hartlepool United (A, 3-1), 14/02/2015  

With the number 50 on his back, we don’t think anyone before or since has been given such a high squad number for Boro’ than winger Dave Martin. His arrival from Luton Town on 14 February 2015 could be seen as a Valentine’s Day gift from Graham Westley. But we’re not sure if it was to us fans or to Graham himself. After all, the gaffer had described Martin as a player that he wished to have on his side.

It did take a few years, though, and Martin had moved on from Millwall by that point. But GW finally got his man. And it came at a time that Boro’ were struggling with injuries left, right and centre. He hooked up with the Boro’ squad for a couple of weeks after Luton had left him go – before then putting pen to paper in a deal that pleased both parties.

Martin’s career started at Brighton and Hove Albion, before going on to make a name for himself at Slade Green and Dartford. After establishing himself lower down the pyramid, Crystal Palace came in for him. It was at Millwall, however, where he had most chance to find his feet in the League.

Martin began his career on the south coast with Brighton and Hove Albion, before making a name for himself at Slade Green and Dartford lower down the pyramid. Crystal Palace soon came calling for his services, although it would be Millwall that gave him the fullest opportunity to establish himself in the League.

He also had spells at Derby County and Southend United, as well as the odd loan spell. But it was starting to seem as if the winger was struggling to find a place to call “home”. It’s perhaps fair to say that Luton Town gave him that chance in 2013, after impressing then-manager Paul Buckle.

Saturday 14 February 2015

Saturday 21 February 2015

Saturday 28 February 2015

Monday 02 March 2015

Saturday 14 March 2015

Tuesday 17 March 2015

Saturday 21 March 2015

Monday 06 April 2015

Saturday 25 April 2015

Saturday 02 May 2015

Thursday 14 May 2015