Share Us:

Stevenage Seasons 1995-6

Manager(s):
Paul Fairclough

Key:
Conf = GM Vauxhall Conference
FAC = FA Cup
FAT = FA Trophy
SC = Spalding Cup
HCC = Herts Charity Cup
HSC = Herts Senior Cup

The 1995-6 GM Vauxhall Conference-winning campaign will remain forever etched in the memories of Stevenage Borough fans. It signalled the club's arrival at the glass ceiling then still locked in place by the Football League, stopping Boro' and Paul Fairclough from seeing just how much further we could've gone. Oh, and Woking fluffed their lines yet again.

It wasn't a spectacular start to the season, but Boro' soon got into their stride towards Christmas as Runcorn found out, blitzed for eight on their own turf. The stand-out result, however, was the famous 4-0 conquering of main rivals Woking on Easter Monday - a result that did more than most to determine who would be lifting the Conference trophy come the final day.

Most appearances: Mark Smith - 50

Top goalscorer: Barry Hayles - 34

1995-6 Stevenage Borough results

Filter results by competition:
  

 

Tuesday 15 August
 
HHCC2Hitchin Town3-0
  

 

Saturday 19 August
 
HConfBath City2-0
  

 

Tuesday 22 August
 
AConfDover Athletic2-1
  

 

Saturday 26 August
 
AConfSouthport1-0
  

 

Monday 28 August
 
HConfTelford United0-1
  

 

Saturday 02 September
 
AConfGateshead2-2
  

 

Tuesday 05 September
 
AConfWoking1-4
  

 

Saturday 09 September
 
HFAC1QBrook House0-0
  

 

Tuesday 12 September
 
AFAC1QBrook House5-1
  

 

Saturday 16 September
 
AConfBromsgrove Rovers1-1
  

 

Monday 18 September
 
HConfKettering Town5-1
  

 

Saturday 23 September
 
AFAC2QUxbridge1-0
  

 

Saturday 30 September
 
HConfAltrincham1-1
  

 

Saturday 07 October
 
HFAC3QStaines Town2-0
  

 

Saturday 14 October
 
AConfHalifax Town3-2
  

 

Saturday 21 October
 
AFAC4QAylesbury United3-1
  

 

Monday 23 October
 
HConfWelling United4-1
  

 

Saturday 28 October
 
HConfNorthwich Victoria5-1
  

 

Saturday 04 November
 
AConfTelford United3-1
  

 

Saturday 11 November
 
AFAC1Hereford United1-2
  

 

Saturday 18 November
 
HConfSouthport1-3
  

 

Saturday 25 November
 
AConfRuncorn8-0
  

 

Tuesday 28 November
 
ASC2Kettering Town1-2
  

 

Saturday 02 December
 
HConfMacclesfield Town4-0
  

 

Monday 04 December
 
HHSC2Watford0-0
  

 

Saturday 09 December
 
HConfBromsgrove Rovers3-3
  

 

Monday 11 December
 
AConfDagenham & Redbridge2-1
  

 

Saturday 16 December
 
AConfNorthwich Victoria3-1
  

 

Monday 01 January
 
HConfSlough Town3-1
  

 

Wednesday 03 January
 
AHSC2Watford3-4
  

 

Saturday 06 January
 
AConfMacclesfield Town0-0
  

 

Monday 08 January
 
HConfFarnborough0-0
  

 

Saturday 13 January
 
HConfHalifax Town2-0
  

 

Saturday 20 January
 
HFAT1Dagenham & Redbridge3-2
  

 

Saturday 03 February
 
HConfRuncorn4-1
  

 

Saturday 10 February
 
HFAT2Burton Albion2-1
  

 

Tuesday 13 February
 
AConfWelling United3-0
  

 

Saturday 17 February
 
HConfGateshead1-1
  

 

Saturday 24 February
 
HConfHednesford Town1-0
  

 

Saturday 02 March
 
HFAT3Kettering Town3-0
  

 

Monday 04 March
 
HConfDover Athletic3-2
  

 

Saturday 09 March
 
AConfStalybridge Celtic5-2
  

 

Tuesday 12 March
 
AConfSlough Town6-2
  

 

Saturday 16 March
 
HConfKidderminster Harriers4-1
  

 

Saturday 23 March
 
AFATQFHyde2-3
  

 

Monday 25 March
 
AConfHednesford Town1-2
  

 

Saturday 30 March
 
AConfAltrincham2-0
  

 

Saturday 06 April
 
AConfMorecambe0-1
  

 

Monday 08 April
 
HConfWoking4-0
  

 

Saturday 13 April
 
HConfStalybridge Celtic2-2
  

 

Tuesday 16 April
 
AConfKettering Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 20 April
 
AConfBath City2-1
  

 

Monday 22 April
 
AConfKidderminster Harriers1-0
  

 

Saturday 27 April
 
HConfMorecambe1-1
  

 

Monday 29 April
 
HConfDagenham & Redbridge1-0
  

 

Saturday 04 May
 
AConfFarnborough2-2

Sort players by:

Apps Gls YC RC US
Paul Barrowcliff45 (4)8002
Marvin Bates3 (3)1005
Scott Beeke4 (4)0004
Stuart Beevor19 (9)2009
Steve Berry45 (1)2000
Corey Browne35 (2)16001
Keith Coughlin0 (1)0000
Gary Crawshaw17 (7)9002
Scott Cretton12 (9)1007
Des Gallagher31 (1)00011
Michael Gonzague3 (0)0000
Nicholas Grime2 (2)0002
Dominic Grime2 (2)0000
Kelly Haag1 (1)1000
Barry Hayles47 (2)34000
David Howell1 (0)0002
Gary Hoy1 (1)0000
Danny Huggins0 (2)0000
Andy Keepence1 (1)0000
Tony Lynch35 (1)10000
Shaun Marshall18 (20)9004
Robbie Mutchell45 (1)1000
Richard Nugent15 (3)3001
Alan Paris5 (0)0002
Mark Phillips2 (1)0001
Phil Simpson15 (1)0001
Mark Smith50 (0)7000
Efetobore Sodje47 (1)5000
Neil Trebble6 (2)2000
Dave Venables35 (5)13001
Matt Vier0 (2)0001
Kenny Webster46 (0)4000
Grant Wedlock3 (0)0000
Richard Wilmot25 (2)00019

Key:

  • Apps = Number of first team appearances (substitute appearances in brackets)
  • Gls = Number of first team goals scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1995-6 GM Vauxhall Conference table

P W D L F A GD Pts
1Stevenage Borough4227105101445791
2Woking42258983542983
3Hednesford Town422371271462576
4Macclesfield Town422291166491775
5Gateshead4218131158461267
6Southport4218121277641366
7Kidderminster Harriers4218101478661264
8Northwich Victoria421612147264860
9Morecambe42178177872659
10Farnborough421514136358559
11Bromsgrove Rovers421514135957259
12Altrincham421513145964-559
13Telford United421510175156-555
14Stalybridge Celtic42169175968-955
15Halifax Town421313164963-1452
16Kettering Town42139206884-1648
17Slough Town42138216376-1347
18Bath City42137224566-2146
19Welling United421015174253-1145
20Dover Athletic42117245174-2340
21Runcorn4298254887-3935
22Dagenham & Redbridge42712234373-3033

Adverts