Share Us:

Stevenage Seasons 2016-7

Manager(s):
Darren Sarll

Key:
FL2 = Sky Bet League Two
FAC = FA Cup
EFL = League Cup
CT = Checkatrade Trophy

Stevenage Football Club entered the 2016-7 campaign making another fresh start. For the third season on the spin, Boro' started the season with a different man at the helm; Darren Sarll taking charge halfway through 2015-6 after a dismal run of form cost Teddy Sheringham his job. And it was an erratic start to say the least, with two wins coming from the first eight games; one at Ipswich in the League Cup, and the other at home to Luton.

The first half of the campaign was a true mixed bag and the side struggled for consistency. Yet, Sarll's men were a different proposition after Christmas and surged up the table. The fine run of form that powered Boro' up towards a playoff spot included a run of eight straight home league wins. In the end, however, we ran out of steam at the worst time possible; failing to win any of the last six matches to fall short of the top seven and a shot at promotion.

Most appearances: Charlie Lee - 48

Top goalscorer: Matt Godden - 21

2016-7 Stevenage results

Filter results by competition:
  

 

Saturday 06 August
 
HFL2Crewe Alexandra1-2
  

 

Tuesday 09 August
 
AEFL1Ipswich Town1-0
  

 

Saturday 13 August
 
AFL2Notts County1-1
  

 

Tuesday 16 August
 
AFL2Leyton Orient0-3
  

 

Saturday 20 August
 
HFL2Luton Town2-1
  

 

Tuesday 23 August
 
HEFL2Stoke City0-4
  

 

Saturday 27 August
 
AFL2Grimsby Town2-5
  

 

Tuesday 30 August
 
AFLTLeyton Orient1-3
  

 

Saturday 03 September
 
HFL2Hartlepool United6-1
  

 

Saturday 10 September
 
HFL2Crawley Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 17 September
 
AFL2Wycombe Wanderers0-1
  

 

Saturday 24 September
 
HFL2Exeter City0-2
  

 

Tuesday 27 September
 
AFL2Cheltenham Town0-0
  

 

Tuesday 04 October
 
HFLTBrighton & Hove Albion2-2
  

 

Saturday 08 October
 
HFL2Plymouth Argyle1-2
  

 

Saturday 15 October
 
AFL2Morecambe2-0
  

 

Saturday 22 October
 
HFL2Carlisle United1-2
  

 

Saturday 29 October
 
AFL2Mansfield Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 05 November
 
AFAC1Port Vale0-1
  

 

Tuesday 08 November
 
HFLTSouthend United4-0
  

 

Saturday 12 November
 
HFL2Yeovil Town2-2
  

 

Saturday 19 November
 
AFL2Accrington Stanley1-0
  

 

Saturday 26 November
 
AFL2Portsmouth2-1
  

 

Saturday 03 December
 
HFL2Doncaster Rovers3-4
  

 

Tuesday 06 December
 
AFL2Newport County2-0
  

 

Saturday 10 December
 
HFL2Blackpool0-2
  

 

Saturday 17 December
 
AFL2Barnet2-1
  

 

Monday 26 December
 
HFL2Cambridge United1-2
  

 

Saturday 31 December
 
HFL2Colchester United2-4
  

 

Monday 02 January
 
AFL2Doncaster Rovers0-1
  

 

Saturday 07 January
 
HFL2Newport County3-1
  

 

Saturday 14 January
 
AFL2Plymouth Argyle2-4
  

 

Saturday 21 January
 
AFL2Hartlepool United0-2
  

 

Saturday 28 January
 
HFL2Grimsby Town2-0
  

 

Saturday 04 February
 
AFL2Crawley Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 11 February
 
HFL2Wycombe Wanderers3-0
  

 

Tuesday 14 February
 
HFL2Cheltenham Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 18 February
 
AFL2Exeter City1-1
  

 

Saturday 25 February
 
AFL2Crewe Alexandra2-1
  

 

Tuesday 28 February
 
HFL2Leyton Orient4-1
  

 

Saturday 04 March
 
HFL2Notts County3-0
  

 

Saturday 11 March
 
AFL2Luton Town2-0
  

 

Tuesday 14 March
 
AFL2Blackpool0-1
  

 

Saturday 18 March
 
HFL2Portsmouth3-0
  

 

Saturday 25 March
 
AFL2Cambridge United0-0
  

 

Saturday 01 April
 
HFL2Barnet1-0
  

 

Saturday 08 April
 
AFL2Colchester United0-4
  

 

Friday 14 April
 
HFL2Morecambe0-1
  

 

Monday 17 April
 
AFL2Carlisle United1-1
  

 

Saturday 22 April
 
HFL2Mansfield Town0-1
  

 

Saturday 29 April
 
AFL2Yeovil Town1-1
  

 

Saturday 06 May
 
HFL2Accrington Stanley0-3

Sort players by:

Apps Gls YC RC US
Tom Conlon4 (1)0100
Henry Cowans15 (7)04015
Chris Day11 (1)00036
Shaun Donnellan0 (0)0004
Andrew Fox11 (3)0006
Fraser Franks45 (1)41004
Matt Godden39 (4)21400
Dale Gorman20 (10)19016
Jamie Gray0 (3)0001
Ronnie Henry37 (1)0401
Kaylen Hinds4 (9)0003
Connor Hunte4 (2)1002
Jake Hyde4 (5)0005
Ryan Johnson0 (0)0005
Jamie Jones40 (0)0312
Ben Kennedy28 (11)9702
Nathan Kerr1 (2)0008
Jack King39 (0)31000
Charlie Lee39 (9)2912
Rowan Liburd5 (13)3009
Ryan Loft0 (9)0206
Jobi McAnuff23 (10)4706
Mark McKee1 (1)0007
Harry McKirdy7 (6)2303
Josh McQuoid10 (6)1101
Kgosi Ntlhe22 (2)02010
Connor Ogilvie18 (0)0200
Tom Pett38 (6)6707
Callum Preston1 (0)00013
Steven Schumacher29 (1)6407
Luke Slater0 (1)0002
Michael Tonge14 (17)13019
Tyler Walker8 (1)4100
Dean Wells12 (4)1318
Luke Wilkinson43 (2)41003
Ben Wilmot0 (0)0003

Key:

  • Apps = Number of first team appearances (substitute appearances in brackets)
  • Gls = Number of first team goals scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

2016-7 Sky Bet League Two table

P W D L F A GD Pts
Portsmouth
Plymouth Argyle
Doncaster Rovers
4Luton Town462017970432777
5Exeter City462181775561971
6Carlisle United461817116968171
Blackpool
8Colchester United4619121567571069
9Wycombe Wanderers461912155853569
10Stevenage46207196763467
11Cambridge United46199185850866
12Mansfield Town461715145450466
13Accrington Stanley461714155956365
14Grimsby Town461711185963-462
15Barnet461415175764-757
16Notts County46168225476-2256
17Crewe Alexandra461413195867-955
18Morecambe461410225373-2252
19Crawley Town461312215371-1851
20Yeovil Town461117184964-1550
21Cheltenham Town461214204989-4050
22Newport County461212225173-2248
23Hartlepool United461113225475-2146
24Leyton Orient46106304787-4036

Adverts